Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Have Dental Floss, Will SCUBA?

As you’re reading this, I’m at the University of Pennsylvania Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Clinic, getting a complete workup to see whether asthma will affect my ability to SCUBA dive.

I’ll be back later today with a full report.  In the meantime, head over to Run to the Finish to read my guest post on (you guessed it!) five reasons to try an adventure race.

And check out these shots of Brent as an eighteen-year-old dive instructor in the Caribbean.  Will I get to join him on his next aquatic adventure?  We’ll see!

How can you not love this face?

12 responses to “Have Dental Floss, Will SCUBA?

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 3, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Good luck! love the pictures (and Brent’s purple life jacket/lawn chair in a dingy combo)

  2. Mallory March 3, 2011 at 9:01 am

    I hope that it works out that you can SCUBA dive. I love SCUBA! I’ve only done it a few times and never as an adult. I almost took classes a few years ago when I was single and had extra $ and time. I wish I would have. Brent was such a cutie at 18! What a cool guy, minus the purple life jacket.

  3. Emily March 3, 2011 at 9:52 am

    I hope it goes well! SCUBA scares me but my college roommate was a fish nut and did dives all over the world. Such a cool thing to be able to do.

  4. Julie March 3, 2011 at 10:00 am

    That turtle looks hilarious! what an expression!
    I caught on in the river last summer and it was so not happy with me. When I let him back into the water he ZOOMED away. I had no idea they could swim that fast!

    Yes, the last picture is adorable. Happy guy.

    One of my teammates is a scuba instructor and I think I’m going to go for it. I’ve always been somewhat nervous about it for some reason….

  5. Kelsey March 3, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I just got back from a trip to Riviera Maya filled with SCUBA! I have mild asthma and did great-so if your doc clears you, let that be comforting! It was AMAZING!!!

    I just tagged you for a blogger award! http://unprofessionalrunner.blogspot.com/2011/03/seven-random-things.html

  6. middleagedrunner March 3, 2011 at 10:49 am

    I LOVE the turtle! I don’t think I could ever scuba- my fear of drowning would probably be the deciding factor, and paired with my fairly bad swimming skills an overall bad choice! The water looks so blue and warm though- I’d lie on that beach?

  7. nobel4lit March 3, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Hope you check out okay! Scuba seems scary even without that condition…

  8. denise March 3, 2011 at 11:57 am

    what an awesome job to have! can i just pick up and go do that now??

  9. the dawn March 3, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    all those pictures made me think of my days working at summer camp. oh to go back to life in the sun without “real” jobs….

  10. Angela Kidd March 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    This makes me want to take a vacation. Stupid midwest.

  11. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    LOVE that last picture!!! 🙂 Good luck!!! Hope it goes well 🙂 Oh, and in regards to my post…you have a deal!! I run outside, you ride 😉

  12. Natalie March 7, 2011 at 4:50 am

    i’m digging his hair 🙂

Leave a comment