Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Year of the Extreme, Month Two

I enjoyed charting January’s training numbers earlier this month, so I thought I’d check back in and see how February turned out.

If you’ll recall, Brent and I put together some rough monthly goals in preparation for July’s six-day adventure race, Raid the North Extreme (now if we could only figure out the teammate situation… but that’s another story for another day)

We’re aiming for:

-Long rides (40+ miles or 3+ hours) every other week.

-Climbing (2 hours) three times a month.

-Paddling (3+ hours) twice monthly.

-Technical mountain biking (1-2 hours on trails) once a week.

-Core/strength work three times a week.

-Three runs each week.

-Long hikes twice a month.

-Bushwhacking twice a month.

-Night training twice a month.

In both quality and quantity, February was a banner month.

I got in a 3+ hour ride every week, culminating in last weekend’s middle-of-the-night century.

We climbed a total of three times and would have gone more this month if it weren’t so expensive.  I’ve decided to give up my gym membership, and we’re contemplating putting that toward a membership at the rock gym.

Running’s been business as usual, but it’s time to start building up some mileage over the next several weeks.  Perhaps a trip around the loop this weekend?

Still no paddling or technical mountain biking, but we got in two long hikes, and both happened to be at night – two birds with one stone!  Throw in that century ride, and that’s three night workouts.  Now if only they’d stop shooting deer in our woods, we could head back out on the trails with the dogs…

I’m still working on finding a strength training routine, and didn’t get in more than two core workouts a week, but I’m finding ways to squeeze it in.  And while true bushwhacking is challenging in the winter when the woods are pretty clear, there were short stretches of off-trail travel here and there.

So what’s in store for March?

With the weather finally breaking and these kinds of hills awaiting us in April, it’s time to take those long rides and runs outside!

16 responses to “The Year of the Extreme, Month Two

  1. denise March 2, 2011 at 8:10 am

    no bush to whack

    that’s it!

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 2, 2011 at 8:29 am

    If Feb hadn’t been good, I think that century ride could have put you over the top!

    I gave up my gym membership last year, it’s soo expensive and I never went in the warmer months.

    Tonight is Mike’s poker night so I’m thinking of modifying your “century ride” to be a 15-20 mile run for me. Hopefully there will be good things on tv!!

    • Abby March 2, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      Good luck with the long treadmill run! For some reason 20 miles on the treadmill sounds more daunting to me than 100 on the trainer 🙂

  3. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 2, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Eeek!!! Hills!!! Your workouts sound like so much fun and not like workouts at all! 🙂 I can’t wait to read all about your adventures in the warmer weather!! Yay for spring!!

  4. Mallory March 2, 2011 at 10:50 am

    Lady you are a ROCK STAR!

  5. Emily March 2, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Super impressive month. i can’t believe the volume and variety of crazy training that you guys have to put in to get ready for the extreme racing you do!

  6. Julie (A Case of the Runs) March 2, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    With hills like that, maybe it’s better if the weather doesn’t improve??? Haha, just kidding!

  7. Johann March 2, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Nothing better than training outside. You are really doing some amazing stuff…lots of respect!

  8. Shelly March 2, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Amanda sent me your way. I love your February schedule! I miss the paddling. I used to race on the water over a decade ago but fell away from it as I got more into long and longer running races.
    I think I may love trail running for similar reasons to your love of adventure racing. If the trail race has challenge in it’s name, I’m going to want to do it. With 2 kiddos still at home and a husband who is not, it hard sometimes but I know I’ll get in everything I can. I’ll enjoy following along with your adventures!

  9. janae@hungryrunnergirl.com March 2, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    You are officially my hero…..girl, you are hardcore. 3+ hour rides…WOW!!! Post your strength training routine once you figure it out….can you tell I just want to be you:)

  10. Brian March 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Just want to say I saw this, and smiled. I’m just now training for my first marathon in Cincinnati, Ohio but am now thinking of all the future adventures in endurance sports I could have. Thank you for the blog and inspiration.

  11. Jill March 2, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    My son LOVES the rock climbing gym…one day I must try it.
    Looks like you’ve got a great plan worked out for March (can you believe it’s March already???? Yikes).

  12. Laurie March 2, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Lemmie know if you are going to run the loop this weekend and you want company! Supposed to be nice out on Saturday, less so (but warmer) on Sunday right now.

  13. Laurie March 2, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Oh, and I just decided to pay attention to the elevation graph you posted. Um, shit. The Manayunk Wall, my MTB and my self are about to become BFFs.

  14. bearrunner March 3, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I enjoy going through the numbers from previous months also. Core workouts are the least fun of all!! I tend to miss them too lol

    cheers

Leave a Reply

