Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Blogger Befuddlement

First things first – is anyone having wordpress issues?  Since I pushed ‘submit’ on my last post, I’ve received no fewer than 50 robo-comments that have snuck through the spam filter and wreaked havoc on my email inbox.

And speaking of wordpress…

I’m teaching a class this semester on oral history methods, in which I’m working with a small group of students to develop a pretty big oral history project to document the stories of those impacted by Superstorm Sandy.

Part of the assignment for the course is for the students to blog about their experiences of developing and implementing the project, so tonight, after we finalized the scope – and title – of what we’ll be doing, I came home to set up said blog.

Or attempt to, anyway.

Now maybe it’s just been awhile since I dipped my toe into the world of (dumbed-down) website development – I started this blog on blogger in 2008 and moved to wordpress in 2010 – but I’m rather baffled by the new wordpress platform.

I’ve got the title and the domain down, I’ve settled on at least a temporary “theme,” and I’ve uploaded a place-holder photo until I get a more legitimate Sandy shot from one of my students.

But now I’m stuck!

I can’t seem to figure out how to change the format, or add new content (a list of authors, for instance, or an “info” tab), or edit any of the settings.

So much for blog-building being idiot-proof.

Or perhaps my capacity for even idiot-proof blog-building has been squelched by four hours in the car, a marathon day of teaching, and a leak in my office this morning that resulted in a ceiling tile collapsing onto my desk.

The sky is falling...

I’m banking on that being the case.

Because if setting up the blog is this hard, I don’t even want to think about actually collecting the stories!

7 responses to “Blogger Befuddlement

  1. Kate February 7, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    I haven’t had spam issues with WP, but I’m being deluged by them on blogger. I’ve heard the same from others, so maybe it’s a case of the spammers getting ahead of the platform controls.

    I know a lot of people love WP over blogger. I myself much prefer the cleaner look of the word press version of my blog, but I find it MUCH easier to blog on blogger and then paste to WP.

    And my guess is your puzzlement can be blamed on your long day.

  2. Johann February 8, 2013 at 5:32 am

    I’ve never even looked at WP and still only use blogger. I’m having quite a lot of spam issues lately. I think Kate is right, spammers are getting ahead of platform controls.

  3. Kristy (@RunTheLongRoad) February 8, 2013 at 7:43 am

    I haven’t had any WP issues recently. And I’m of no help with blog building. It’s not idiot proof…or so I tell myself.

    Hope we are able to run tomorrow! Fingers crossed for just 3 inches 🙂

  4. Mallory February 8, 2013 at 9:00 am

    I’ve only used blogger and I have also been getting spam! I wondered what was up with that. That soundalike a cool project for students. I’d love to teach someday. How did you get into it?

    • Abby February 8, 2013 at 5:42 pm

      I actually went into grad school thinking I’d come out of a joint JD/PhD program to become the most over-educated documentary filmmaker in America 🙂 But somewhere along the way I discovered that I love teaching. Someday I’m hoping to combine the two (doc making and teaching), but getting to work with students to develop oral history projects is a pretty nice gig, too!

  5. Julie@ACaseoftheRuns (@nobel4lit) February 8, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Yeah, I turned off my comment notifications due to all the spam I’ve been getting (on blogger)… horrible.

  6. Kari @ Running Ricig February 8, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    I’ve only used blogger and that’s mostly out of pure laziness. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

