Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Reboot

I’ve been doing a lot of waiting recently.

Professional waiting.  Personal waiting.  Racing waiting.  Each is independent of the others and they’re all interconnected and it’s meant that over the past few months, my life has felt like one big holding pattern.

Last week, on an early flight to the west coast – I was in LA for a family wedding – I decided that I was done waiting.

I started easy, by firming up a race calendar for the spring and summer.  I’m looking at a two-day snowshoeing race next month, a marathon this spring, and then a handful of adventure races between May and July, before Brent and I head to Eastern Europe for 3-4 weeks of hiking and exploring .  Nothing too elaborate this year – nothing longer than 48 hours or more than 500-600 miles away.

Then I put together a training plan.  It’s not dramatically different – I’ve already been getting in long runs and speed work and the like  – but something a little more formalized, a little more on-paper.  I’m a big fan of on-paper.

And then I started “training.”

For about three days, that is – until my right achilles started complaining.

In point of fact, it had actually been complaining for a few weeks – it started the day after I raced a 9k in New Orleans in three-year-old minimalist trail shoes.  I’m not sure if it was those shoes or the Brooks Ghosts that I started wearing two days later, but my calf has been cranky on-and-off since.

I consulted with a couple friends – Jason, a college track coach/new teammate, and my new-ish running buddy Kristy, (or, as she’s known in our house, Kristy-from-the-Philly-Marathon) – and now I’m in the middle of a week-long rehab bonanza.  Lots of massaging and stretching, boatloads of icing – and zero running.  Then I’ll ease back in for a week and hopefully be back training in earnest by mid-February.

Maybe in different shoes.

I’ve pushed my target marathon back from March to April, to give myself an extra four weeks to prepare.  I’m currently eyeing the Athens Marathon in northeastern Ohio.  Not ideal in terms of location, but the weekend works well logistically and the course looks relatively fast and forgiving.

And so I guess I’m back to waiting.  But now I know what I’m waiting for.

7 responses to “Reboot

  1. Laurie February 2, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Ooh, no running? I can handle that right about now!

  2. Kate February 2, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    Stupid injuries!

    I told my teammates I’d train for another marathon if I finished Dirty Kanza this year…which will be after April or I’d think about getting in on the Athens marathon just so I could come meet you! 🙂

  3. Kari @ Running Ricig February 2, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    My achilles really bothered me when I first started training again after the Hartford Marathon and now Mike’s is bothering him. 4 days of rest did the trick for me. Hope yours feels better soon.

  4. Anne February 2, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    Hi Abby! it’s been a while. I really hope all the attention given to your Achilles gets it back on track! Sounds like another busy year for you guys 🙂

  5. Kristy February 2, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    🙂

    Here’s to running with you again (very) soon!

  6. Mallory February 3, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    So good to read your blog again. It’s always so motivating for me. I hope your Achilles feels better soon. Definitely good that you’re keeping an eye on it. Can’t wait to read more of your adventures.

  7. Johann February 7, 2013 at 4:31 am

    Waiting can be frustrating but knowing what for makes it much better. Hope the Achilles is better already. I’m in full training for the 89km (56mile) Comrades Marathon so I’m on the road and off the trails for now.

Leave a Reply

