Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

‘Gator Gab

Today, on the car ride home from a local orienteering meet…

Brent: I hope we see more ‘gators this year.

Me: I’m sure we will.  It’s been a lot warmer.  And as long as we see them from the comfort of our canoe, I’ll be just fine with that.

Brent: Not me.  I want to see one on the ground.

Me: I guess if it’s from the bike and we don’t have to go into the swamps again afterward, I’d be okay with that.

Brent: We should throw him some of our gear and then pose for pictures.  “‘Gator wrapped in space blanket.”  “Gator blowing whistle.”  It’ll be fun.

Me: “Gator eating Brent.”

Brent: It’s a lie that ‘gators will drown you before they eat you.

Me: What do you think you’re supposed to do if a ‘gator gets you?  Should you play dead? … I guess you’re probably not doing anything voluntary at that point.

Brent: Probably not…

Race prep is as much mental as it is physical, right?  

Next up: Kando Adventure’s 2012 Palmetto Swamp FoxBecause what would a season be without a chance to hang out with some of these guys?

(Photo is actually from last summer's Costa Rica race. Luckily we won't be contending with Latin American crocs when we head to South Carolina on Saturday.)

9 responses to “‘Gator Gab

  1. Kate March 11, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    You guys are too funny.

    And yeah, I felt a little tough. 🙂

  2. jay March 11, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Side note – Gators are delicious.

  3. misszippy1 March 12, 2012 at 10:06 am

    That’s an awesome conversation! I don’t think I’d want to see one from a canoe or on the ground…you guys are braver than me!

  4. Coy March 12, 2012 at 10:46 am

    That made ma laugh!! I love those conversations! My husband and I have them about the deer and the sun!

    There was a 70.3 that I was looking at and when I realized it was in New Orleans and that there could be alligators around, I said no thanks. Just drives me insane to think about them! Pre historic looking things 🙂

  5. mallory March 12, 2012 at 10:48 am

    “gator eating brent” hahahah. That made me laugh out loud.

  6. Julie (A Case of the Runs) March 12, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Is this the equivalent of “taper madness”? Yours sounds a lot more interesting than just worrying about twinges in the calf. Hah!

  7. Johann March 13, 2012 at 5:54 am

    I love this! We often talk about “what might be waiting to grab you” on the trails. We don’t have gators but we have quite a few mean customers. Take care!

  8. Jill March 13, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    Hahah…too funny!!
    I’ve never seen a gator; I’d probably pee my pants if I ever did!

  9. Kara March 18, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    My great uncle used to collect gators and crocs in his basement (yes, really) and I’m here to tell you that coming eye to eye with one isn’t half as fun as your husband is imagining. 🙂

Leave a Reply

