Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The more things change…

Last summer, Brent and I had so much fun in Hawaii that in the past three weeks, we decided to quit our jobs, sell our house, and move ourselves and our pups to the Big Island.

This is the view from our new backyard:

Okay, that’s a lie (though that was the view from our backyard in August).

In reality, this month has been filled with a lot of work, a lot of training, and a lot of scouting and prepping for the 24-hour race we’re designing.

And while that’s all well and good, it’s not so exciting to write about another long ride through suburban Philadelphia, another 5-hour brick workout at the gym, or another day of exploring parks-that-shall-not-be-named as we put together the course for the Cradle of Liberty.

Taken in one of the parks we'll be using for the Cradle - can you guess which one?

But all that’s about to change.

This Sunday marks our ever-exciting annual Oscars Extravaganza (I promise actual photos this year), and a week after that we’re heading to Vermont for the first race of the season!

From there we’re off and running on what’s shaping up to be a ridiculous spring and summer of racing and traveling.

So stay tuned, my friends.  Because epicness abounds.

12 responses to “The more things change…

  1. Natalie February 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    I was about to email you with the upcoming weekend’s events that remind me of you each year and to see what was new/how you were doing. It sounds like you have many adventures in store for a great spring!

  2. kari @ Running Ricig February 21, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    You better take pictures! Also, are you going to make baked s’mores???

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords February 21, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Yay epicness! I’m looking forward to reading about your races!

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) February 21, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Yes! Looking forward to seeing this year’s festivities with photos.

  5. misszippy1 February 21, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    So fun that you are keeping everything about the race top secret. You have a lot of good spots around that area to put something together. Still–Hawaii wouldn’t be too bad either!

  6. Kate February 21, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    Hurray!

    And I totally know what you mean about the same old thing not being so exciting to write about. I keep doing it, but it’s not very exciting…

  7. Jill February 21, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    You had me going there for a minute about moving to Hawaii…I was going to ask if I could move into your spare bedroom ;). Can’t wait to hear about the exciting event coming up !!! 🙂

  8. Johann February 22, 2012 at 4:44 am

    Exciting season coming up for you. I have the Vermont 100 on my list for one day. I’m still hopeful to do Pikes Peak this August. Just like you did and moved to Hawaii I did the same last week and quit my job and we moved to the USA for a life of trail ultras… Have a good week!

  9. Mallory February 22, 2012 at 7:21 am

    Moving to Hawaii would be awesome! Sounds like you’ve been really busy lately!!

  10. Denise February 22, 2012 at 8:27 am

    gosh, feels like forever since we’ve talked…things have been crazy busy for me, too. sounds like some exciting stuff going on over there for you two!! i thought of you last night when i saw a commerical for the oscars. 🙂

    have fun in vermont!

  11. I Run For Fun February 26, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    I am watching the Oscars as I type this. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

