Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

In search of William Wallace

At first, we thought we’d be buying this for next summer.

Brent and I had begun planning to go to the 2012 London Olympics about two weeks after we started dating, and we figured we’d combine the trip with a few weeks of backpacking around the rest of England.

We began researching and budgeting, and we entered the lottery for tickets as soon as it opened.

So when we learned last summer that we’d come up with nothing in the drawing, we were pretty bummed.

At first.

Once the sting wore off, we realized that this opened up all kinds of possibilities.  Pretty much anywhere in the world would be cheaper than a month in the UK for the Olympic games.

We made a list of alternatives and spent an afternoon at Barnes and Noble mining the travel section.  We wanted a place that offered variety – not just hiking or just museums.  We wanted adventure – this will likely be one of our last pre-kid summer backpacking trips, so we wanted to go somewhere that would be harder to get around with little guys in tow.  And we wanted somewhere new – the past two summers have seen a couple repeats for one or the other of us.  We wanted to explore a new place together.

First up – the Himalayas.

Until we realized that August is monsoon season.  That wouldn’t do.

Then came Chile or Argentina.

Except that we’ve spent the past two summers in Latin America and wanted to mix it up a bit.  Plus, it’s really cold there in August.

We thought we were set when we landed on Turkey.

Equal parts European and Middle Eastern.  Lots of hiking and lots of culture.  Great food.  Totally new for both of us.

Perfect.

For the past six months, I’ve been daydreaming about falafel.

Until Brent came home with this:

Six minutes later, I was hooked.

In less than a month, we had a team.

And thanks to a holiday special over at Lonely Planet, just a few minutes ago, I ordered these:

                

In the next couple weeks, we’ll be pulling the trigger on registration.

And then… We’re off to Stirling!

(Oh!  And the phantom commenter did, indeed, identify himself!  It was a good friend of mine from law school, who was, to Brent’s dismay, only half sarcastic :))

18 responses to “In search of William Wallace

  1. kari @ Running Ricig December 9, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    Now I want falafel! You guys are so much more exciting than we are :).

  2. Artie December 9, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Hey Abby, Beth and I went there about 15 years ago and LOVED it. Can’t wait to go back someday soon. Have a great time!!

  3. Kristy December 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    reading this post reminds me so much of me and my husband. always looking for a new place to explore (although we aren’t as adventurous as you two)! and going to far away places while we are still kid-free (one of our reasons for choosing kauai next may). we’ll be in london in june, so we hope to soak up some pre-olympics excitement!

  4. misszippy1 December 9, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Ok–your going big makes my going big really small! That is such an epic adventure. Love that you are going for it and love that you are doing it w/ Brent. You guys are badass!

  5. Kate December 9, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Ahhhhhhhhhh, you guys are so cool I can’t stand it!! I’m so jealous and so glad I’ve found your blog so I’ll be able to live this vicariously through you. My bucket list just got one item longer. 🙂

  6. adventureisoutthere December 9, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    You guys are crazy brave…or just plain crazy :p
    I think it looks lovely, but I felt “cold” all through the video. What’s the weather like there when you’ll be racing?
    I think Turkey looks nice. My MIL went a few years ago and said it was hotter than hell.

  7. phillygal December 9, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Sounds awesome. Just make sure you leave time for actual vacationing – seeing Scotland’s lovely castles, eating the local food, checking out Edinborough, etc.

  8. Angela K. December 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Awesome! And how awesome that little ones will soon be joining you guys on these awesome adventures!

  9. Julie (A Case of the Runs) December 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    What? Really? No tickets were available to any of the events? Whoa..

  10. Sarah S @RunningOnWords December 9, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    I am so jealous! I’ve always wanted to go to Scotland and the people I’ve known who studied in Stirling say it is amazing. Have fun planning that trip!

  11. Anne December 9, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Absolutely awesome!!! Wow!! I sometimes wish I had had that kind of guts when we were younger and without kids 🙂 …you guys rock!!!

  12. Black Knight December 10, 2011 at 2:15 am

    You know, I love Scotland and yes, I visited Stirling too. Wonderful places full of history. I am sure you will like it. And every saturday you can enter the Parkrun 5km.

  13. mallory December 12, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Oh my gosh that looks so incredibly awesome! What an exciting adventure!

  14. Kara December 12, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Ok, I admit that I am hugely jealous of your ability to travel like that. I do my kid, but that freedom sure looks sweet. 🙂

  15. Johann December 13, 2011 at 9:13 am

    That is just so awesome! I think you chose the perfect adventure in the end. Very exciting!

  16. Jay December 14, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Fantastic! I have friends who just went in October. They loved it. They hiked across a good stretch of Scotland. I can get their itinerary if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

