Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Movin’ On Up

Remember the race that Brent and I put on earlier this year?  The 6-hour sprint adventure race that we dedicated 60 hours of our spring to designing?

Who could forget our Clown Boats?

Well, because we don’t have enough to occupy our times these days (I hope that dripping sarcasm makes its way across the blogosphere), we’ve decided to up the ante.

A couple weeks ago, we signed on to design and direct our first 24+ hour race, the GOALS ARA Cradle of Liberty, to be held in June or July of 2012.

We spent last Friday doing some preliminary scouting and have come up with a rough course that we’re both pretty jazzed about.

I can’t say much without giving away closely guarded race secrets (seriously – when we borrowed maps from a friend, I had to ask for a whole stack so she wouldn’t know which we were using), but I will tell you that Brent and I are gearing up for some serious work over the next several months.

There will be routes to explore, parks to visit, permits to secure, maps to build, checkpoints to place, sections to vet, volunteers to line up, and a whole lot more that I can’t begin to anticipate yet.

When all is said and done, we’ll hopefully be set to roll out a seriously epic adventure in eastern PA.

Who’s in?

11 responses to “Movin’ On Up

  1. misszippy1 November 9, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    How fun! I bet it’s a great project to work on…anxious to get a peak at what you come up with!

  2. kari @ Running Ricig November 9, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I love the covert ops and secrecy! It makes it so much more exciting!

  3. Kate November 9, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Oh, man…I wonder what my chances are of dragging my family to PA (or wherever) so I can abandon them for 24 hours? And now I’m off to read that post you linked, because I’ve never read it.

  4. Sarah S @RunningOnWords November 9, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    This is SO COOL! I can’t be there because of the whole having a baby in May thing, but I can’t wait to hear about it!

  5. Jill November 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Sounds like something Super Kate needs to sign up for, she’s always up for an endurance adventure….I’m just having a hard time convincing her the Leadville 100 is a good thing! 🙂

  6. Laurie November 10, 2011 at 12:09 am

    At this point I will 63% commit to being there in one form or another.

  7. Brie November 10, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Sounds exciting! I can always be a volunteer on the sidelines!! I love to keep reading your blog about all of the adventures you and Brent are taking!

  8. Julie (A Case of the Runs) November 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    That’s sure a tall order! Don’t be too rough!! I’m nowhere near that area, but sounds like fun!

  9. Pingback: Breaking Even « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  10. Pingback: The more things change… « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

