Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Practice Makes Grumpy

First things first, today I ran roughly four miles.

It took almost an hour and 45 minutes.

Why?

Because that’s what happens when the little orange and white flags you’re searching for are hiding under rocks.

Suffice it to say, I was a little bit grumpy when I made it back to the car.

Now, onto more important updates:

The results are in for the second annual mother-daughter bake off.

When I sent Emily the two loaves, I told her to report back on which one was better – the labeled or the unlabeled.

A few days later, I received this email:

…which means that for the second time in a row, my mom has come out on top.

So, mom, what gives?  We’re following the exact same recipe – I know this because you wrote it out for me on a neat little index card.

What’s your secret?

11 responses to “Practice Makes Grumpy

  1. Laurie November 6, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Yer ma’s bread comes infuesd with a healthy dose of wisdom that comes with age. Or something like that.
    And searching for those silly orange flags took me almost 2 hours so don’t be so grumpy.

  2. Kate November 6, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    My mom is the queen of directions including things like “some” spice or “a little” sugar and mixing it “til it looks right” and then baking it “until it’s done”. Even when she writes down directions, they’re just a guess. Either that, or your mom intentionally wrote it down wrong. 🙂

  3. Jill November 6, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    Errr, orange flags shouldn’t be hiding under rocks….but it does make it more of a challenge, huh? 🙂 My mom could have been standing over me telling me what to do and I still couldn’t make anything as good as hers. Thankfully, I don’t really try anymore :).

  4. kari @ Running Ricig November 7, 2011 at 8:43 am

    that sounds like an awful run!

    Seriously, how does your mom keep beating you!?

  5. Denise November 7, 2011 at 10:57 am

    oh man! how did she win again? esp if it’s the same recipe. conspiracy.

  6. Black Knight November 7, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Is that orienteering?
    Perhaps mom has more time than you to bake.

  7. Coy November 7, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    Don’t feel alone Abby! My grandmother bakes these Christmas cookies each year and no matter how hard I try with the same recipe, hers taste better and come out better. It’s something, some sort of thing they have on their side.

  8. Sarah S @RunningOnWords November 8, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Did your mom change something without telling you? My mom can’t actually cook or bake, so this is not a contest we would have.

  9. foodiefiasco @ Foodie Fiasco November 8, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I laughed so hard when I read this. I guess we can’t out do our mothers, can we?

  10. Julie (A Case of the Runs) November 8, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    I’d let my mom beat me… I fully admit she can cook/bake better than me!

    Good luck on your race… I’m up on Saturday and have not run a lick since this weekend. Ooof.

  11. Angela K. November 8, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I bet your mom puts more butter in. I swear that’s Paula Deen’s answer to everything. More butter. And it seems to work.

Leave a Reply

