Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Epic Battle Continues

Coming home a little while ago from 20 chilly miles to a 57 degree house, I was seriously tempted to spend the rest of the day in the shower.  Instead, I pulled on an extra layer and headed for the kitchen.

Why?

Because today marks the 2nd running of Kari’s Bake Sale to raise money for Kisses from Katie – and thus the second incarnation of the great mother-daughter bake-off.

Last February, my mom and I faced off to see who could bake the better cranberry chocolate chip bread.  And when the bids were placed and the votes were cast, she came out on top.

But, after months of deliberating, I think I may have found an edge.  So, this afternoon, it’s time to dust off my mixing bowls and dig out my measuring cups as I try to knock my mom out of the winner’s circle.

Want to cast the deciding vote?  Head on over to Kari’s blog and start the bidding!

13 responses to “The Epic Battle Continues

  1. Kate October 30, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    I love cranberries! Yum. 🙂

  2. kari w/ Running Ricig October 30, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    hahaha! Maybe I should bid on your bread…I want to know about this edge!

  3. Julie (A Case of the Runs) October 30, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I’ve been a bottomless pit today, and this isn’t helping. yay for taper baking!

  4. misszippy1@gmail.com October 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Such a great cause! Good luck beating your mom.

  5. Vanessa @ Gourmet Runner October 30, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    I love this friendly competition! My mom and I have a recipe (apple crumble) that we both think we make the best version of…one day we need to do a bake-off to find a final winner!
    🙂

  6. Cory Reese October 30, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Cranberry chocolate chip bread?!?! Pardon while I wipe the saliva off my lip.

  7. tosha25italia October 30, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    darn it!! I just went and it’s closed already! Hope it made lots of money.

  8. Elise October 30, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    Ummmm…can I have the recipe?! Seriously I’m salivating over here and want.some.of.that.bread….and missed the bakesale 😦

  9. Emily October 31, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I won the bread and am SO excited to try it! I will definitely let you know the taste-test winner…if I don’t inhale both loaves first.

  10. Denise November 1, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    ooh, curious as to if you won this year!! my mom would be crushed if i ever beat her in a cook off. she thinks she’s the best chef out there!

  11. Pingback: Practice Makes Grumpy « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

