Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Kentucky or Bust

Greetings from Lexington, Virginia!

We left Philly yesterday afternoon and got about halfway to our southeastern Kentucky destination before calling it a night.  We opted to take Skyline Drive down, and ended up sharing the road with a bear, two bucks, a fox, and a bobcat perched on a stone wall!

For those of you who have been following along for awhile, you know that while I’ve technically qualified for nationals before, this is the first year that I’ve felt truly competent in the sport, and as such, it’s the first year I’ll actually be racing.

We’re getting ready to hit the road for the second leg of the drive, so there will be no long post about our goals for the race or my own vacillating feelings about whether or not this is just another outing in the woods.

Instead, I’ll just say that if you’d like to follow along, beginning at 7:00 Friday morning, look for Team GOALS ARA at the online race headquarters.  There, you’ll find live-ish tracking and hopefully some good commentary.

And now, it’s off to the races!

16 responses to “Kentucky or Bust

  1. kari @ Running Ricig October 6, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Good luck!

    Did you freak out when you saw a bear in the road? I think I’d scream like a little girl.

  2. Johann October 6, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Fantastic and very exciting! All the best and enjoy! Nationals will be a wonderful experience.

  3. Coy October 6, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Welcome to Kentucky! I hope you kick butt! At least the weather will be nice for ya! I’ll be sure to check out the website to see how you’re doing!

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) October 6, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Ahhh, have fun! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  5. Jill October 6, 2011 at 11:32 am

    What a fantastic experience. I can’t wait to hear about it all. I’ll email you this afternoon about next week! YAY! Good luck!

  6. Denise October 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    good luck!!! be safe!

  7. Kate October 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Oh, man…I’m going to be all over that online coverage…probably a good thing that I’ve got a conference out of the building or I’d get myself in trouble trying to peek at what’s going on in the race while trying to teach at the same time. 🙂

    Have a blast!! Can’t wait to hear about it.

  8. Angela K. October 6, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Good luck!!! Can’t wait to read all about it.

  9. Sarah S @RunningOnWords October 6, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Good luck! I’ll be following online (so when you win I can be all I “know” her).

  10. Jay October 6, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Good luck! When you get a chance, share some of the wildlife karma. We seem to be scaring all the moose and bears away up here.

  11. Anne October 6, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Good Luck!!!!!!! I’ll definitely be checking in 🙂

  12. adventureisoutthere October 7, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Have a wonderfully fun time!!!!

  13. Natalie October 7, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    wow! good luck this weekend!@

  14. Anne October 8, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    OMG! You guys did amazing!!!! 🙂 Congratulations on what I believe is 5th place! Incredible!!!

  15. Pingback: USARA National Championships 2011, Part 1: Introducing, the Deer Slayer « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

