Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Compressed – Aspaeris Pivot Shorts Review and Giveaway

A couple weeks ago, after a particularly hard string of workouts, I emailed Kari, the queen of giveaways.  “Can you please hold a giveaway for compression shorts?” I asked, “and make sure that I win?”

“How about reviewing a pair instead?” she responded in short order. “I can hook you up.”

Two weeks later and just in time for my last hard week of training for nationals, I had in my possession a pair of Aspaeris Pivot compression shorts, bright red, per Kari’s recommendation.

Aspaeris, I read in the enclosed information packet, is a female-centric company that makes women’s specific compression-wear designed to prevent injury and enhance performance.

What more could I ask for?

I admit, when I pulled them out of the packaging, I was dubious.    I’m a pretty small person, and I thought I’d followed their sizing guidelines to the letter, but there was no way, I thought, that these sausage casings would fit me.

Image c/o Racing with Babes - notice the size comparison with her skin-tight bike shorts.

I contemplated emailing Kari then and there, but instead, I pulled them on – surprisingly smoothly – and let them work their magic.

Now, I’ve never worn compression shorts before, and I had visions of electric-like pulses healing my aching quads and massaging my hamstrings all without my noticing I was even wearing them.

Here’s a spoiler: that didn’t happen.

In fact, what did happen was a week of trial and error where I kept convincing myself that they weren’t working, and then finding myself running faster with less effort during each successive workout.

I wore my Aspaeris’ four times over the course of the week, all for recovery.  I slept in them once, snuck them on under my work clothes for 12 hours a second time, and donned them for short durations on two additional occasions.

And here’s what I found:

The shorts themselves were comfortable enough, but when I was wearing them, my legs felt tight and when I took them off they felt heavy.

Where was the compression wonderment that everyone speaks of?  Why wasn’t I feeling light and fresh and ready to PR every single second of the day?

Oh right.  Probably because I was knocking out my highest running mileage month in two years and simultaneously fitting in long hill rides every weekend.

These shorts didn’t perform any miracles.

But when I took them off, after I shook out the heaviness, I found that I was comfortably and consistently running a quicker pace than I thought I should be.

And after coming off a weekend that included a 100k hill ride and a 19-mile run that culminated in some pretty intense IT band pain, I experienced no discomfort in my post-compression runs.

Is there something unique about the Aspaeris, or is this the effect of compression shorts in general?  As a compression virgin, I can’t answer that, but I can tell you that these shorts did what their website told me they would do: in my week of compression-dom, they elevated my running performance, and they kept a budding injury at bay.

So, want a chance to try out your very own pair of bright red (or navy, or black, or white) Aspaeris Pivot Shorts?

All you’ve got to do is go to the Aspaeris website and leave a comment telling me what you’ve learned about the shorts and why you’d like to give them a shot.

One entry per person, to be drawn randomly on Sunday evening, October 2.

Compress away!

37 responses to “Compressed – Aspaeris Pivot Shorts Review and Giveaway

  1. Sarah Jordan September 28, 2011 at 8:33 am

    I learned that they are important for post workout recovery! Love them!

  2. Autumn Rae September 28, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I learned that the Pivot short is Aspaeris’s first product! Would love to try them!

  3. Carrie B. September 28, 2011 at 8:44 am

    I had no idea that over 200,000 female athletes injure their ACL each year!

  4. Amy D. September 28, 2011 at 9:05 am

    The most important thing I learned is about the high occurances of acl tears in women, and how this can be prevented. I’d love to try out these shorts for running!

  5. Kaitlyn Watts September 28, 2011 at 9:20 am

    They are made for women to prevent ACL tears, an in jury that I am incredibly fearful of. I would like to try a pair of these.

  6. Michelle September 28, 2011 at 9:24 am

    This is an excellent review!! I learned that these were designed for women athletes specifically! (which is awesome!)

    I’m in the last 6 weeks of marathon training an would love to wear these for recovery after long runs!!!

  7. Ann September 28, 2011 at 9:36 am

    I would definitely love to try a pair of those shorts for recovery. I just ran my 2nd half marathon this past weekend and I know I ran hard and I heard that compression helps with recovery. I had no idea though the number of women who are likely to tear their ACL! These shorts seem like they would be good for recovery and preventative measures too!

  8. Ginni September 28, 2011 at 9:43 am

    I learned that these shorts guide you into correct ‘knees over toes’ position.

    I would love to wear these on my long runs and for recovery as well!

  9. Allyssa September 28, 2011 at 9:48 am

    I learned that the pivot shorts are actually two pairs of shorts in one, each with a different function. I would love to try these for running and P90X workouts.

  10. PENNY September 28, 2011 at 10:07 am

    I love the dual sensory compression. That it is two shorts in one. Would love to try these babies out on my marathon in 3 wks.. To see how they perform.

  11. Erica September 28, 2011 at 10:11 am

    I learned how Aspaeris helps prevent injury in women. I’d love to try the shorts because no matter how much I stretch or strengthen, my poor butt seems to work itself into knots after every workout. Haven’t tried the compression solution yet!

  12. Missy September 28, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I learned that women are way more susceptible to ACL injuries, boo. I would to try these out before my half Ironman in a few weeks.

  13. Kara September 28, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I already have a pair, but I’ve learned that I need at least two, preferably a second pair in RED. 🙂

  14. Julie (A Case of the Runs) September 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

    I learned that this compression gear is supposed to help with ACL injuries, which I think is pretty amazing, actually. I’ve never tried compression gear on anywhere but my calves (which cramp a lot), but I do sometimes have similar issues in my thighs/rear, so this would be a wonderful thing for me to try (especially since my marathon is coming somewhat soon).

  15. Arena Thompson September 28, 2011 at 11:43 am

    I learned that they are made to help prevent ACL tears. Awesome giveaway! I would love to win!

  16. Kim September 28, 2011 at 11:55 am

    I learned that compression shorts can be used both during and post-exercises. I can’t wait to try them out (when I win them of course) =)

  17. Abby September 28, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I love that they were designed especially to prevent injury for women.
    And I love the RED. I need the RED ones.
    Please 🙂

  18. Holly B September 28, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    That the shorts help keep you in proper form while you run and walk to prevent injury. Cool!

  19. Patty September 28, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I learned these are made specifically for women. I really need a pair, they would totally help my soccer game!

  20. amy September 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    I learned that they are great for recovery AND injury prevention. Sounds great! I would love to use these after my long runs!

  21. adventureisoutthere September 28, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    I learned they are two pairs of shorts woven into one. I need them because I am a woman with issues and I’m looking for all the help I can get ;p

  22. ~K~ September 28, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    ~K~
    i learned that not only are they cute, but they actually help you stay in proper position. wow! runner_girl5k(at)yahoo(dot)com

  23. Carrie September 28, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I learned that they are actually two shorts woven together in one. I would love a pair for race recovery!

  24. Jessica September 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    I learned that they are important for helping you run correctly and that they are two shorts in one. I have a groin injury and am looking for some compression shorts (but they are expensive!) I am training for my first half marathon and would love a pair to help with my training!!

  25. Jill September 28, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    You should have posted a pic with you in them :).
    I found the center of mass interesting changing positions as you aged. As one older than dirt, mine must be at my ankles by now….maybe that’s why I had the foot injury from hell? 🙂

  26. Sarah S @RunningOnWords September 28, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    Wow, 200,000 ACL tears a year? That’s crazy!

  27. Amy September 28, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    I learned they help prevent ACL tears and that they help keep proper form

  28. Suzanne September 28, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    New follower-I’m anxious to check out past posts. I think it’s amazing that Aspaeris was designed for women and to prevent us from ACL injuries. I’ve watched my husband undergo ACL surgery and if these shorts will help prevent that sign me up!!!

  29. Coy September 29, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    I like the whole “knees over toes” thing because I can use all the correction I can get!

  30. ali September 29, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    i learned that they are made specifically for women athletes… how cool… and I’d love to try a pair for recovery!

  31. Angela K. September 29, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Hmmmm. I think the compression stuff – other than the stuff for wearing on airplanes for bloodclots – is all placebo effect. I know, this is blasephemy for a triathlete. I do like compression socks for keeping me warm in the winter. But what the heck, I’m not one to turn down free shorts. If those shorts help keep proper form (especially when I’m pregnant) (oh, that’s what I learned on the website) well than they are nothing short of miraculous.

  32. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday September 29, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I’ve never tried any compression gear but if it’s going to prevent injury and enhance performance I’d love to give them a shot!

  33. Black Knight September 30, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Interesting post. Always more items for runners!

  34. Natalie September 30, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    wow these sound like magic! I learned that they are a women’s company and ways to test if you have an ACL injury. Interesting stuff. And I like the idea that they work to prevent ACL injuries.

Leave a Reply

