Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Day I Turned into a Poisonous Snake

On Monday morning, I took to the streets of Kona for a long run.  By the end, I’d covered 13 miles of the Ironman marathon course.  It was a pretty uneventful outing, save for some tired legs following Sunday’s hike and the intense sun that was heating up the famed Ali’i Drive.

But the next night, as we headed north for the requisite Hawaiian luau, Brent noticed something rather alarming.

Can you see it?  Here, take a closer look (hint: it’s not the shine!)…

Still can’t see it?  I’ll give you one more try…

That’s right, somewhere along Ali’i Drive, the combination of salt, sunscreen, sweat, and sunglasses caused a genetic mutation.

Remember the key marker of any poisonous snake?  Yep, the dreaded loreal pits.

Check out those pits, filled with venom, on the side of his nose

Now take another look…

See?  We’re almost twins!

So what’s a girl to do when she suddenly finds herself full of venom?

Sunset dance party.  Obviously.

9 responses to “The Day I Turned into a Poisonous Snake

  1. kari w/ Running Ricig August 13, 2011 at 6:25 am

    hahahah!

    The heat can be so killer for zapping your energy! I’m impressed by your 13 miler!

  2. Anne August 13, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Made me smile this morning…you’re a lovely looking poisonous snake 🙂

  3. Vanessa @ Gourmet Runner August 13, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Nice job on 13 miles! You’re making me miss Kona with these posts–I lived there for 10 years! I volunteered for the Ironman when I was a teenager. Love your dance party!!

  4. Kara August 14, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Great run!

    Now, this could just be my computer, but I can’t barely read your new font. Maybe my old lady eyes aren’t what they used to be! 🙂

    • cinephilism August 14, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      Sorry for that, Kara! Can you take a look and let me know if it’s better? I was futzing around with it yesterday.

  5. Tasha @ Voracious Eats August 14, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    You are awesome. I love this post, and I love that your cure to turning into a poisonous snake is to dance. Right on!

  6. Denise August 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

    looks and sounds like you’re having a miserable time. 😉 maybe you should come home and i’ll finish up your vacation for you.

  7. Pingback: Stupid Much? « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

