Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Curse of the Free Game

Whoops!  I didn’t intend to be away  from the blogosphere for a full week!  We just returned from a trip up to New Hampshire for Brent’s family’s annual pilgrimage to Squam Lake.

Every summer, Brent’s folks rent a house on the famous Golden Pond, and every summer we head north for a few days of hiking, running, kayaking, swimming, board-gaming, soft-serve eating, and, of course, mini-golfing.

Since I joined the party five summers ago, Brent and I have taken his oldest niece and nephew out for an afternoon of putt-putt and ice cream, and a healthy rivalry has been building over the past several years.  Last year, at Pirate’s Cove on Weir’s Beach – our usual haunt – I started off slow but made a roaring comeback.  In total, I landed three hole-in-ones, good for a spin on the Pirate’s Wheel that earned me a token for a free game at any of the Pirate’s 25 locations around the country.

Last week, it was time to cash in.

Having mastered the Weir’s Beach course, we decided to try something a little different, and so it was on Saturday afternoon that we found ourselves driving to the Pirate’s Cove on Winnisquam, a little bit of a lake a few towns south of our Big Squam rental.

The course began easy enough, but I quickly realized that it was not going to be my day.  At each stop, my ball would bob when it should have weaved, bend when it should have sailed straight, bounced when it should have floated.

At nine holes, I was in third place, up four shots from Brent and 18-year-old Rob, who were tied for the lead.

But then 12-year-old Sarah had a masterful back nine, leaving me behind to wallow in my putt-putt mediocrity.

In the end, Brent was able to hold a narrow lead, with Rob and Sarah nipping at his heels.  And me?  Well, at least I had the highest score, right?

We finished out the day with an impromptu photo shoot before venturing off to test out a new local creamery (I enjoyed my coffee chip yogurt, but according to Sarah, the double fudge brownie ice cream didn’t hold a candle to J.B. Scoop’s, our usual haunt).

How many war movies can you pay tribute to on one golf course?

Remember how Brent likes to pose people for pictures?

Yeah, he likes to pose himself, too.

Rob is just a little bit taller than me...

Brent’s hole in one earned him a Pirate’s Cove scratch off card, good for $1 off his next game.  He asked me to put it in a safe place for next year, but as we were packing up to leave yesterday, I slid it from my wallet and left it on the kitchen table.

After all, if there’s one thing I learned this week, it’s that nothing good can come from a free game.

8 responses to “The Curse of the Free Game

  1. Denise August 4, 2011 at 11:48 am

    whoa! a whole $1 off a game! i’m shocked you left that behind!! 🙂

    hope you had a great trip, looks like the mini golf was a lot of fun. oh, and speaking of that…i always think it’s weird when andy calls it “putt putt.” thought that was a mid west thing. drives me crazy just like sucker (lolli pop), pop (soda), tennis shoes (sneakers)…sorry, i’ll stop. clearly the mid west wasn’t for me!

    • Abby August 4, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      The soda/pop divide drives me nuts, too 🙂

      Oh, and don’t get me started on how New Englanders call our beloved Philly sandwich a steak-and-cheese. Who cares that I haven’t eaten one since I was a kid? Some things are sacred.

  2. mallory August 4, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Haha looks like a lot of fun! Sorry it wasn’t your day!!!

  3. Jill August 4, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Looks like perfect training for your upcoming climb in Hawaii!!! 🙂

  4. kari @ Running Ricig August 4, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Love the pictures! Looks like you guys had a ton of fun! It stinks that we didn’t get to meet up with you for your CT hike!! We’ll have to plan something!

  5. Kara August 4, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I love playing putt putt. We had place where I grew up that was jungle themed and had robot monkeys. Creepy, but fun.

  6. Kim (Book Worm Runs) August 4, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Aww, yay for putt putt!! 🙂 I haven’t played in years but I am not that good so it is no real loss! Lol!

  7. Black Knight August 6, 2011 at 11:24 am

    It looks fun, I would like to try. That is a very beautiful place. Thanks for sharing the pictures.
    As a former sailor I love ….. the pirates.

Leave a Reply

