Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Midnight Mile

The Time: 12:15 AM

The Place: The sparkling new 24-hour Planet Fitness, in Flourtown, PA

The Plan: One Timed Mile

The Company: Laurie, of The Brick Wall

The ReasonKari’s “Proof You Didn’t Peak in High School” Virtual Race

When Kari emailed with the idea of a virtual mile race last month, I was in the midst of pre-Costa Rica madness and the prospect of a 1600-meter sprint was the furthest thing from my mind.

But then Costa Rica went to the dogs, and I started training for Philly, and Laurie and I made plans for a regular Wednesday morning speedwork date.

On this week’s agenda?  Getting in that timed mile before the July 31st deadline.

Except that neither of us wanted to wake up early on Wednesday…

The next logical alternative?

Staying up until Wednesday begins.

After getting assurance from Kari that a midnight(ish) treadmill mile would be official (reasoning that the late hour negated any positive benefit the treadmill provided), we headed over to the gym – a Planet Fitness ten minutes away that went up seemingly overnight a few weeks ago and offered a $20 monthly fee with unlimited free guests passes.  I joined this morning.

We showed up just before Wednesday and started with an easy warm-up mile.

Then we busted out the camera.

Sufficiently embarrassed by our filmic exploits, we were ready to run.

“Let’s shoot for 6:40,” Laurie said, “so, like, a 9.3-ish on the treadmill?”

I laughed.  “That’s not going to happen,” I told her.  A physical impossibility.

“Well, I’m sure you can do a mile in sub-7:00, right?”

“Guess we’ll see!”

Ready...

Set...

Go!

I pumped the machine up to 9.0… then 9.2… then 9.3… then 9.5…

And then I began counting down the meters.

At 0.3, I remembered why I hate sprinting.  At 0.5, I contemplated calling it quits.  At 0.8, I decided that this was harder than a 24-hour adventure race.  At 0.95, I upped the speed to 9.9.

And then I was done.  And may have let out some carefully chosen expletives.

Distance: 1 Mile

Time: 6 minutes, 24 seconds.

The treadmill wouldn't give me a reading until it went through its 3 minute warm down

Trying to get a post-run shot while standing on separate treadmills is tough.

Getting both of us and the wall clock with a self-timer was even tougher.

Conclusion: I think I should stick to endurance.

11 responses to “Midnight Mile

  1. mallory July 27, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Wow!!! Way to go! You two are too funny!

  2. Marcia July 27, 2011 at 10:23 am

    OMG you crazy kids crack me up! I’d either have face planted or dropped from cardiac arrest at that pace. WTG!

  3. kari @ Running Ricig July 27, 2011 at 10:28 am

    hahahaha! You guys are awesome and hilarious. Nice work!

  4. Julie Martinez July 27, 2011 at 10:48 am

    At the gym at 12:30! Love it! I would have gone out for a “cold one” after that sppedy mile! Holy cow!! I still need to do my mile for Kari! I think I have a few days left!

  5. Kara July 27, 2011 at 11:13 am

    That is amazing. I can’t ever remember working out at that time of the night. I don’t think my body would function!

  6. lauren July 27, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Haha this is so awesome. It sort of reminds me of one time my brother and his friend woke up really early and went to IHOP’s all you can eat pancake thing. Then they went to the gym and wanted to see who could run the fastest mile after eating that many pancakes. I think they both puked…

  7. Julie (A Case of the Runs) July 27, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Haha… that sounds tough!! I think I peaked in high school. =( Not even sure if I could do sub-7 right now… it’s worth a try, though!

  8. Kim (Book Worm Runs) July 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Love it!!! Way to go speedy…you ladies kicked that mile’s booty!! 🙂

  9. Laurie July 27, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    One of the more absurd ways I’ve spent a Tuesday night.
    We are silly people.

  10. Vanessa @ Gourmet Runner July 28, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Nicely done! I would have been half asleep on the treadmill!!!

Leave a Reply

