Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Whose Bright Idea Was That?

Saturday afternoon I drove to the Delaware coast.  One of my oldest friends turned 30 earlier this month, so she gathered a group of girls for a weekend of beachy birthday escapades.  The rest of the ladies caravanned down Friday evening, but after ending the week feeling rundown, I opted for a low-key night at home and a mini-solo road trip the next day.

Birthday girl is in the middle. Majority dictated that pictures could only be posted from the chest up.

I had every intention of getting in a 10-mile run on Sunday morning, but after a late dinner and 3 hours of wandering the night before, I slept in until 9 AM (unheard of!), and by then the sun was high and the temperatures were soaring.  We spent the morning in the ocean before heading back to Philly.  I made it home by 5:30 pm (a brief catnap ensued in a parking lot en route) and headed out for an early dinner.

Then, I had a decision to make.

Option 1: Bike tonight, get up before dawn to fit in the run.

Option 2: Bike tonight, squeeze in a treadmill ten miler tomorrow afternoon.

Option 3: Run tonight, in the 85-90 degree heat, with a belly-ful of turkish food.

Which would have been the smart choice?

Which choice did I make?

We got home from dinner at 7 pm and I pulled on my running shoes.  I grabbed my garmin and my nano and headed out the door, determined to get back before dark.  I had no route in mind and opted for small loops around my neighborhood.

Here’s how it went:

Mile 1: It’s not so hot.  This’ll be fun.  Why don’t I run in the evenings more often?

Mile 2: Why am I breathing so hard?  Did I forget to take my inhaler this morning?

Quick pit stop at home. One puff.  Two puffs.  

Mile 3: Okay, I can do this. More than 1/5 down.  Some people are doing Ironmans today.  10 miles can’t be that bad.

Mile 4: Dean Karnazes and his Ultramarathon Man cliches blasting in my ears.  “It doesn’t matter how you get it done, just get it done.”  True enough… but why does my stomach feel like it’s turning inside out?

Mile 5: Uh oh…What’s the quickest way home?

Pit stop. Just in time.

Brent: How’s it going?

Me: This wasn’t my best idea ever.

Brent: What are you going to do?

Me: I’m going back out.

Brent: Really?  Are you sure that’s a good idea?

Me: Guess I’ll find out.

Mile 6: Dean’s at Mile 30 of Western States.  Can I run five more before he crosses the finish line?

Mile 7: I think my garmin’s broken.  Does the 205 still pick up satellites around here?  Why is this mile taking so long?

Mile 8: How far is it around this block?  And this block?  And this block?

Mile 9: Is it going to rain?  The sky is looking sort of ominous…

Mile 9.5: Oh… that must be the sun going down.  Right.

Mile 10: Done!  So why am I voluntarily going around the park again?

Mile 10.5: Home! Must. eat. watermelon.

Brent: I was just about to send out the dogs.

Me: The second half was better than the first.

Brent: I’ve never seen you sweat so much.

Me: Remind me not to do that again.

20 responses to “Whose Bright Idea Was That?

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) July 25, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Hahaha, love it!! Great job getting it done but next time go for option 1 or 2! 😉 Lol!

  2. denise July 25, 2011 at 8:07 am

    i like the waist up picture rule!!

    and you’re nuts. it was miserable out there yesterday and to head out after dinner…that must have been fun! way to get it done, though!

  3. kari @ Running Ricig July 25, 2011 at 8:20 am

    “why is this mile taking so long?” that is how I felt on every single run last week. This weather is killer! But at least I didn’t have a belly full of turkish food! You’re crazy! 🙂

  4. Johann July 25, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Well done for sticking to it! Most would not have gone out again. I never realized you get these really hot summers until I started reading blogs. Now, where do I find your e-mail address?

  5. lauren July 25, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Haha this is great. The same thing was going through my mind last week. But I wasn’t tough enough and had to do my 9-miler on the treadmill.

  6. Anne July 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Haha…crazy lady 🙂
    Great pic with the girls…a little tired looking in the second pic 😉

  7. mallory July 25, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Haha I love the mile by mile commentary!! We’ve all gone out at foolish times before!! It happens to the best of us!!

  8. Julie (A Case of the Runs) July 25, 2011 at 11:56 am

    I often start dreaming about watermelon toward the end of long runs. Sounds like it was a toughie!

  9. natalie July 25, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    wow good for you – impressive.

  10. RunToTheFinish July 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    now that sounds like the kind of silly thing that I would do!! i think i’m glad you got the run in ? 🙂

  11. Sarah S @RunningOnWords July 25, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Hahaha, this sounds so familiar (although mine was a 5 miler from crazytown). Glad you got it done, I think!

  12. pawsitivelife July 25, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Running on a full stomach is never a good idea….bleh! I think i would tell myslef that id get up beofre dawn…but that never works

  13. Tasha @ Voracious Eats July 26, 2011 at 8:19 am

    I’ve said it before, and I’m sure I’ll say it again but DAMN YOU ARE TOUGH! I love to workout (but of course, my working out is an hour at the gym) but conditions have to be just perfect. Evening workouts – nope. Full belly – nope. You are one tough and determined chica!

  14. the dawn July 26, 2011 at 10:00 am

    ugh. that sounds miserable. but, when you make a decision, and follow through no matter what? love it! way to dig down deep and find the resolve when there were so many easy reasons for you to quit along the way.

  15. Angela K. July 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Turkish food and then running. You are nuts!

  16. Kara July 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Running at night is either awesome or awful, never in the middle. I’ve never done it on a full stomach though. 🙂

    I’ve very impressed that you came back inside at mile 5 and still went out and finished up. That takes some grit!

  17. adventureisoutthere July 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Cute girls, Cute pic!! …you barely even got your chest in that shot.
    Great pic of sweaty you, too. Sweat proves you’re trying hard 🙂
    I. LOVE. TO. SWEAT!

  18. Stephanie July 26, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    What a great quote- I will have to remember that when I’m running and my head is telling me to quit!

  19. Shelly July 27, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Love the mile by mile recap. I love that runner make the most interesting choices!!!

Leave a Reply

