Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Pace of Home

It’s rare that Brent and I are home for any length of time during the summer.  Since we got married, we’ve been filling our off-months with races and travels that have left us frantically jetting from one thing to the next.  It’s always great stuff, but it leaves us both exhausted by the end, ready for a vacation just as the school year is ramping up.

Right now, though, we’ve got three straight weeks in Philly (excluding weekend travels), and I am totally, completely, blissfully in love with being here.

I wake up early to write. I’m currently revising one book project and outlining chapters for another.  I get to spend my mornings immersed in wordplay.  Incredible.

I walk to farmers markets with friends.  Last weekend I spent Saturday morning catching up with a good friend who’s been backpacking around the world for the past year.  We wandered around our neighborhood without a goal in mind, chatting about traveling and teaching and books and organic farming.  An hour later, we met two other friends and headed to the farmers market.  I was home by noon with armfuls of local corn and kale and peaches and eggs.

I work on house projects that have been gathering dust for months.  Brent’s been working on finishing our basement for five years.  I’ve been wanting to consolidate and organize all of our books for at least four.  In the past week, we’ve worked together to make a big dent in both.  The books?  They should be done by the end of the summer.  The basement?  With a little bit of help from my contractor father and some of his subs, hopefully by winter!

I run. And bike. And strength train.  For the first time in months I can work out without having to concern myself with recovering from or tapering for an upcoming event.  With nothing planned until Adventure Racing Nationals in October and the Philly Marathon in November, I’m finally finding a routine that won’t be disrupted by pesky races.

I read.  I just finished Erik Larson’s latest, In the Garden of Beasts, about the first American ambassador to Nazi Germany.  If you enjoyed Devil In the White City, you have to check this one out.  And if you didn’t like Devil, this one’s still worth a try.

I cook.  With plenty of time and all these fresh farmers veggies, Brent and I have committed to stop eating on the go and actually spend some time in the kitchen.  Seriously, it’s not an exaggeration to say that we’ve eaten more meals together in the week since we’ve been home from Costa Rica than we did this entire spring semester.

I play.  Brent and I are going to movies again.  We’re meeting friends for dinner and drinks and bar trivia.  We’re going out for softserve and taking the dogs to play in the woods.  I’m making coffee dates and running dates.  I’m catching up with friends I haven’t seen in months.

I love the pace of home.

———

And on an unrelated note…

Ever the enabler, Miss Jill at Run with Jill has tagged me in a little game of Q&A.  As she writes, “ask me anything.  No holds barred.   No subject too serious or frivolous.  I can’t guarantee that I will answer every question, but I guess we’ll see.”

So, want to know something about racing and training?

About experiments in omnivoredom?

About running around in the woods with your significant other for days on end?

About how to travel through Latin America with little more than duct tape and dental floss?

C’mon, guys, what have you got for me?

Jill tells me that I’m to bestow this Q&A Award upon five people who have to Q&A on their blog, and then pass it on to five others  – using the same image file above.  I’m going to use her process of selection – the first five to comment on our awesome Dance with the Fer de Lance.

Without further ado…

Tasha @ Voracious Eats

Anne @ Asthma and the Gift of Running

Kari @ Running Ricig

Emily @ Sweat Once a Day

Denise @ Happiness… One Mile at a Time

Ask away!  I’ll be out of town visiting family for the weekend, so this’ll give me something fun to come home to on Monday night.

13 responses to “The Pace of Home

  1. kari @ Running Ricig July 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

    We are doing work on our house this summer too, but so it actually gets finished, we’re paying someone to do it. That and we are both completely inept.

    Question: How are things going with the meat eating? Is it still as super-power producing as at the beginning? Will you go back to being a veg?

  2. Julie (A Case of the Runs) July 14, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Sounds like my kinda pace! And I do recall you are into movies, so glad you have more time to watch those again.

  3. mallory July 14, 2011 at 11:55 am

    I LOVE Farmer’s Markets. They are so much fun to go to. Sounds like a good summer so far!

  4. adventureisoutthere July 14, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    I want to know what in your life prepped you to be able to do adventure racing for hours and hours on end… I simply can’t seem to get my body to work efficiently for more than about 6 hours in a row.

  5. Elise July 14, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    sounds like a great home pace! and doing things that you enjoy, and being able to relax. i can’t wait to be home after having been on the go for three weeks. its going to be great to just be…in my element, in my home for a while.

  6. pawsitivelife July 14, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Sometimes I really crave non-excitment. Weekends when I dont have anything planned and I can just do whatever I please. Now I get the odd weeknight to myself, and I love it.

  7. Kara July 14, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    When I have free time, I waste it with watching cat videos on the internet. Your stuff sounds better though. 🙂

  8. Brie July 14, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Abby!
    It was great to hang out with you and get to exploe Mt Airy with you. I loved your post and made me look forward to our next walk.

  9. Tasha @ Voracious Eats July 15, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Ooooh I love this idea! I will have to think about what questions I have for you. Let me get my nosy hat on!!!
    I love this post because you sound so relaxed and happy. Blissful! Reading, cooking, playing, and walking…that sounds perfect to me!

  10. Anne July 16, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Sounds so great to be able to just relax a bit 🙂

    Okay…questions: Do you want kids? Is adventure racing something you hope to keep doing for many years? What are you writing about right now (books you mentioned working on)?

  11. Anne July 16, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Oh…and thanks for the tag 🙂

  12. Black Knight July 18, 2011 at 4:14 am

    We need a bit of relax at home. But is it relaxing with all the homeworks to do?
    I love the farmer markets but this hectic life brings us to the supermarket.
    Question: have you ever raced in Europe?

Leave a Reply

