Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Red Light, Green Light

image

Last minute instructions from the race director: “bring a red-lensed headlamp. You will be trekking through a sea turtle nesting habitat, and white lights are forbidden.”

Three cheers for red nailpolish!

10 responses to “Red Light, Green Light

  1. kari @running ricig June 23, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Genius! Also, sea turtles are cool (I have one on my necklace right now)…please don’t think I’m a giant nerd.

    • Abby June 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      A nerd? Really? That’s the part of the race I’m most excited for! Oh, and Brent has a sea turtle tattoo on his shoulder 🙂

  2. Julie (A Case of the Runs) June 23, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Are they harmed by white light? I would have gone for tape/cellophane, but that’s because I don’t paint my nails red!

    • Abby June 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      I think they just really don’t like the white light, but hopefully we’ll learn more when we get there! I’m not a red nailpolish wearer either, but it was a lot cheaper than brand new lights 🙂

  3. Kara June 23, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I didn’t know turtles liked red light. Are you going to sing “Roxane” as you run? 🙂

    • Abby June 23, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      I think it’s less that they like red light and more that they actively don’t like the white. But I’ll let you know – and either way, I’m definitely planning on breaking out some Police 🙂

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) June 23, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Love it!! 🙂 What a creative duo you are! 😉

  5. Sarah S @RunningOnWords June 23, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Will you be at the beaches of Tortuguero? I saw the sea turtles lay eggs there last summer and it was incredible! I’m surprised they let your race in there, though since the turtles are highly protected in CR.

    • Abby June 23, 2011 at 7:19 pm

      It’s funny – with adventure racing, you don’t really know what the course will be until you see the maps, so all we know is that we’re starting north of San Jose and ending on the Caribbean coast. Could be Tortuguero, though!

Leave a Reply

