Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A New Decade

Last year this time I was hiking around ancient Incan ruins in Pisac, Peru.  Today, I’m celebrating my 30th birthday in more low-key fashion: a morning of Costa Rica prep, an afternoon of writing, and tonight, a little bit of celebratory cheer thrown in for good measure.

The day began – appropriately – with a 30 minute run with Laurie.  Likely the last run before the race start, we enjoyed a leisurely trip through the park in choking humidity as the skies alternated between sun and showers.  Probably a lot like Costa Rica, come to think of it.

Then, as I tried my hardest to put off cleaning and packing my bike or working on a book proposal, I sat down to catch up on a few blogs and came across Tina’s post on Doggelgangers.  Yes, you read that right – a website that matches you up with your canine twin.

Me and Turbo

Brent and Tammy

Almost identical, right?

After nearly three hours spent cleaning, breaking down, and boxing up the bikes (only to put them back together and do the whole thing again tomorrow to ensure that race transport and transitions will go smoothly), I’m sitting at a coffee shop, iced tea in hand, enjoying a brief respite from race prep and getting ready to write about oral history and activism.

With only 36 hours until we leave for the airport, this beast has become all-encompassing!  But I guess that’s what you guess when you sign up for a five-day adventure race in another country, right?

And there are worse ways to ring in a new decade than trekking with your husband through the Costa Rican wilderness 🙂

8 responses to “A New Decade

  1. kari @running ricig June 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Happy Birthday!!!

    I love the dogglegangers! I tried to do it, but apparently it didn’t like any of my pictures. Maybe I should try again.

  2. Aron June 22, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    HAPPY 30th!!!! Have a great time in Costa Rica 🙂

  3. Sarah S @RunningOnWords June 22, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Happy birthday! I can’t wait to read your recaps from CR! I’m sure you’ve already told us, but where all are you going in CR?

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) June 22, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Happy Birthday Abby!!!! Enjoy the last few days before Costa Rica…I am sooo excited for you guys and can not wait for the pictures and recaps!! 🙂

  5. Julie (A Case of the Runs) June 22, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Happy birthday!!!!

    I’m a bit afraid to see my doggie twin.

  6. pawsitivelife June 23, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    I thought I was seeing double for a while there! Im sure my doppleganger would be a very overweight english bulldog or a mastiff..which would be PERFECT! I hope you have a fantasitco trip and post lots and lots of pics!

  7. Denise June 23, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    i’m not sure i want to see what dog is my twin!!

    i can’t believe CR is here already. i can only imagine all the packing! hope you had a great birthday!

  8. Samantha Angela June 23, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I tried my doggie doppelganger and got a few different ones every time.

Leave a Reply

