Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Lessons Learned

(1) Too-big running shoes will no doubt be great on Day 3 in Costa Rica.  But they don’t offer much ankle support for my currently normal-sized feet on rocky trails.

(2) Hopefully, avoiding caffeine for a few weeks will make that Costa Rican coffee and diet coke extra-awakening come race day.  In the meantime, though, it may cause unintended sleepiness.

(3) Sometimes it’s okay to choose an indoor bike ride on a beautifully sunny afternoon, especially when you’ve just discovered a brand new guilty pleasure.

(4) But at the same time, planning a bike route to end at a movie theater may be the perfect date night.

11 responses to “Lessons Learned

  1. Mallory June 14, 2011 at 8:52 am

    I LOVE Friday Night Lights!!! I haven’t seen it in several seasons but it was an awesome show way back when I watched it. I hope you enjoy it!! Thanks for the boost of confidence on the hill training. I think you’re right. Hopefully it will make me think that the San Fran hill is a breeze!!!!

  2. kari @running ricig June 14, 2011 at 8:58 am

    I tell myself the same thing about running on the TM on a sunny day. My guilty pleasure is Veronica Mars right now 🙂

  3. Kara June 14, 2011 at 9:22 am

    Fun thing about Costa Rica, they don’t have “Diet Coke” only “Coke Light” and it’s different that diet coke here (I think it has like 5 calories or something crazy like that). It seemed like it had more caffeine too, or at least to me it did!

    • Abby June 14, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Interesting… I bet it’s the same Coke Light that they have in Peru and Ecuador. I don’t care about the calories during racing, I just don’t like the taste of regular coke, and if I remember correctly, the Coke Light tastes a lot more like the original stuff… Might have to stick to coffee!

  4. Johann June 14, 2011 at 9:53 am

    I sometimes battle with toenail issues and bigger shoes help for that. I just can’t go any bigger. I sometimes cut the toes of my shoes open and this is usually great. I climb into bed with a mug of coffee most of the time and just fall asleep.

  5. Julie (A Case of the Runs) June 14, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I thought Costa Rican coffee would jolt you even if you didn’t withdraw from caffeine at all….

    I err on the side of getting 1/2 size bigger for shoes, as they say. I think my first ever pair of “running shoes” were much bigger than that… and I felt like I was a duck.

  6. Sarah S @RunningOnWords June 14, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    I got Netflix a few months ago and I watched all of FNL within a few weeks. It’s so good! I’m really sad that it’s almost over (I’m watching the final season on Hulu as it airs on NBC).

  7. tricia June 14, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    love the date night idea

  8. Elise June 15, 2011 at 4:25 am

    I totally have a FNL addiction as well. Though I have blocked myself from Hulu for a while 🙂 And now all I want is a delicious cup of Costa Rican coffee…Brita coffee…..on the beach…with the monkeys. Ahh the memories.

  9. Running to Music June 15, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    I.Love.FNL. LOVE. Its the best show on television, hands down! So sad its over 😦 be glad you are just getting started and have all the seasons to get through!

  10. Jill June 15, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I loved Midnight In Paris. Owen Wilson is so funny!

Leave a Reply

