Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Holy Heels (Help!)

This week, I wore heels to not one but two graduations (lots of endeavoring to inspire to achieve hopes and dreams).

You all would have been proud – muscles be damned, I even wore a skirt yesterday!

Problem is, my calves are begging for mercy. (I’m sure it didn’t help that I wound up running several blocks in said heels on at least one of those two days.)

I have a race this weekend – 24 hours of running, biking, and paddling though the Pocono mountain wilderness – and I’d prefer not to start on sore legs.

I’ve compressioned them and stretched them, rolled them out and spun them on the bike, but nothing doing – they’re still mad at me.

Any suggestions for a quick fix?  Help!

14 responses to “Holy Heels (Help!)

  1. Kelsey May 13, 2011 at 7:07 am

    here’s your line, “Husband, massage. Now.”

  2. Laurie May 13, 2011 at 7:35 am

    You can borrow Joyce and roll around on her for a bit. Or do what I do… don’t buy held because if you don’t own them you can’t wear them.

  3. Bill May 13, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Lay on the couch with a heating pad on your calves while watching TRON. The watching TRON is the important part. Or Star Wars episode 4 A New Hope has also been known to cure many ailments, from hangovers to hang nails.

  4. Erin May 13, 2011 at 8:45 am

    An ice bath. Or, in my case when I tried it out for the first time a few weeks ago, it was very spur of the moment, so I just did a “really really cold water” bath. It is one of the most awful/amazing things I’ve ever experienced. Works like a charm, I can’t recommend it enough, and after the first 5 minutes it stops being horrifying.

    http://whole9life.com/2011/04/ice-ice-baby/

  5. Mallory May 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Water, lots of water. Both in you and around you. Hydrate to help the muscles and I agree with the suggestion of ice bath!

  6. Julie (A Case of the Runs) May 13, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Heels are the devil. I hate to say I avoid them when I can, but they give me the height that I NEED at work.

  7. Denise May 13, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    sorry but this made me laugh!! my first thought was ice bath but it may be too late for that…

  8. Kari w/ Running Ricig May 13, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    you tried everything that would be my suggestion 😦

    I’ve currently been wearing compression sleeves since 7am…I think it’s time for them to come off now.

  9. pawsitivelife May 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Times like these call for advil!

  10. natalie May 14, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    compression socks? hope it worked out!

  11. Black Knight May 15, 2011 at 9:49 am

    I like the joke. When I have sore legs I have a thermal bath and it works.
    Good luck on the race.

  12. Sarah S @RunningOnWords May 16, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Foam roller? This comment is probably way too late to be useful. Did they get better?

    • Abby May 16, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks for asking, Sarah, they did get better! I wore compression socks for about 24 hours straight leading up to the race and hydrated like it was my job. I still felt some tightness during some of the uphill slogs, but overall they held up well.

Leave a Reply

