Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Confessions of a Fidgeter, Part Three

Missed Parts I and II?  Check them out here and here!

You may remember that last fall, while I was driving to work early one morning, my engagement flew off my finger and disappeared.

That’s right, gone – eaten by the gremlins that live in the crevices of my car.

I was both baffled and befuddled, but when I finally gave into the fact it was really gone, I called the insurance company to file a claim.

Two months, several phone calls, and one office visit later, I had a check in my hand.

In February, I headed over to Caleb Meyer, the local jeweler who had made the original, and explained the situation.

“I was trying to stop my oatmeal from falling over,” I told the clerk sheepishly.

As I recounted the events that had led to my visit, she pulled out a tray of stones, and we set out to design a ring that would be as close an approximation to the original ring as we could get.

We went through three different trays – the sapphires were either too big or too small, too blue or too green, too cloudy or too sparkly.

Then I remembered something.

“You know,” I said, “The stone that we used for the ring was half of a matching set.  He had originally planned to use them for earrings.”

“Hmm…” said the woman, mentally sorting through their stock.

“I know it was more than four years ago…” I trailed off.

“Let me see…”

She walked into the back room, and a minute later called out, “aha!”

She returned triumphantly, a small plastic box in her hand.

“Matching serial number and everything.”

Together, we peered at the stone, and sure enough, it was almost the exact match to my original ring.

“Sold!”

This morning, after months of waiting (I told them that they should prioritize mine below the people buying engagement rings for the first time), I received a phone call from the jeweler.  My ring was done!

It turned out that my engagement ring was a half-size bigger than my wedding band, so he went down a half-size for the new one.  When I went to try it on, though, it was still really loose, so he took it down another half-size. Now it’s a full size smaller than the original, and fits securely around my finger.

Check it out:

Image c/o Caleb Meyer Jewelers

Above is the original, a green sapphire that glints yellow in the sun.  Brent and I designed the ring together after he proposed with a loose stone.

Image c/o Caleb Meyer Jewelers

And the new one, under slightly different lighting.  A little bit more round, a little bit less green, and the artist in Caleb decided to add those three small balls on either side of the stone (they’re much smaller in real life than they look in this magnified picture) – but overall, almost exactly the same!

The irony is, I rarely wore my engagement ring before I lost it.  I happened to have started wearing it just a few weeks earlier, when I began my teaching gig and thought it would make me look a little bit more “grown up” (logical?  Perhaps not…).

Now that I have it back, I feel like I have to wear it all the time.

If only I could figure out a way to keep the ring on my finger without fidgeting with it…

13 responses to “Confessions of a Fidgeter, Part Three

  1. Sarah S @RunningOnWords May 11, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Lovely! I’m a horrible fidgeter, so I always feel lucky that I haven’t lost or destroyed my ring (which is heavily insured). I’m glad you managed to get a matching stone and are so happy with the result!

    Thanks for the info! We’ve actually been married for almost 4 years, but I’m glad to know!

  2. kari w/ Running Ricig May 11, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Great story! I LOVE the ring. I love when engagement rings are original. Clearly mine is my favorite, but yours is freaking awesome!

  3. pawsitivelife May 11, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    This is why when I get engaged I dont want a ring, too scared of loosing them! plus Im allergic to pretty much all metals..sigh

  4. Kelsey May 12, 2011 at 7:27 am

    AHHH that’s so cool that you got the matching stone!! Love that!
    What you need is a big knuckle!!

  5. Mallory May 12, 2011 at 9:53 am

    What a crazy story!! Definitely make sure this ring is tight enough! It’s so pretty!!

  6. lauren May 12, 2011 at 9:59 am

    That is such a crazy story! And I love your ring, it’s so pretty and different!

  7. Samantha Angela May 12, 2011 at 11:13 am

    That is a gorgeous ring. I absolutely love the setting! It’s so different from anything I’ve see before.

  8. Denise May 12, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    i love it! if you didn’t tell me i wouldn’t have seen the difference in the two. now quit playing with it!

  9. Marcia May 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    That is breath-taking! So sorry about the trauma of losing the first one though.

  10. Laurie May 12, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Bill thinks we are secretly the same person, at least when it comes to engagement rings. We were both proposed to with a sapphire stone, no setting and I had to get my ring remade too. Fun times!
    Where did you get yours done?

    • Abby May 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      So either you and I are the same person, or Brent and Bill are for their proposal choices.

      We got all our rings (engagement and wedding) at the Caleb Meyer studio in Chestnut Hill. He’s great – and my dad used to play basketball with him 🙂 Where is yours from?

  11. natalie May 14, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    You cannot tell the difference at all. I love it!

Leave a Reply

