Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Training Well

Yesterday morning, I went for a run with Laurie.

We headed out on the Wissahickon trails for a few miles before turning around and following the soft gravel path along the creek back.  As we turned off Forbidden Drive for the final climb up to our cars, I turned to Laurie – who has a far better internal pace clock than I do – and asked, “Out of curiosity, how fast do you think we’ve been running?”

“I’d put us around a 7:45,” she responded. “Not on the trails, of course, but on the path, yeah, definitely lower than 8, definitely higher than 7.”

Just like my reaction at the Rev3 when someone told me we were holding a 7 minute pace, my first thought was, “no, that can’t be right.  I don’t run that fast.”

“You mean you can’t hold a conversation at that pace?” Laurie asked.

“No,” I said. “I just don’t run that fast.”

“I think you do, stupid” she was probably thinking.  “Because you are.”

Guess it’s time for me to start reevaluating how I think of myself as a runner.

Which leads me to some thoughts that have been swirling through my head about the Philly marathon this November.

I decided last fall that there would be no marathoning in 2011.  But then Amanda emailed about running Philly, and I very quickly caved.  The prospect of fun running buddies is pretty hard for me to resist.

So I registered, with thoughts of a fun, no-pressure running date with friends.

And then, of course, Boston fever exploded across the blogosphere…

And I realized that I only have one confirmed race for the fall…

And that the six-week break I took after Philly last year did wonders to cure my burntoutedness from racing and training for two years straight…

And that, on two separate occasions, I’ve maintained a sub-8:00 pace without realizing it.

I haven’t trained well for a marathon in a long time, and the prospect of putting in the time and energy is becoming increasingly enticing, especially knowing that there won’t be quite as much on my plate after this summer’s AR bonanza.

I’m not totally sure what “training well” would entail – whether I’d shoot for a PR or a BQ – and I’m not making any decisions until we return from Costa Rica and I see how my body feels after 106 hours of straight racing.

But I’m tempted… Oh so tempted…

13 responses to “Training Well

  1. Tasha @ Voracious May 10, 2011 at 6:39 am

    I find reading about your training adventures so inspiring! I always think of myself as fit, but when I read what you do I’m in awe. Keep up the brilliant work!

  2. Laurie May 10, 2011 at 7:56 am

    I say you go for it! I know I can’t do it (especially because I’d have to run a sub-3:30 to basically be assured getting into Boston, right?) but I will so cheer you on. Still haven’t decided if I am even going to run it at all.

    • Abby May 10, 2011 at 7:58 am

      I’ve gotta figure out when the new standards go into effect. It might not be until 2012?

      • Brian May 10, 2011 at 10:58 am

        Abby, from what I ready, 2012 is when they start shaving time off of qualifiers. If you qualify this fall and are able to register then you are set. I’m excited to read about your various races and thanks for the kind words as I went throug (am still going through?) my pity party.

  3. Kari w/ Running Ricig May 10, 2011 at 8:20 am

    apparently you DO run that fast! That’s awesome!

    So Mike and I are thinking about doing the Vegas half in December…would you and Brent be interested?

  4. Mallory May 10, 2011 at 8:48 am

    You can do it!! It sounds like you’re a really good runner and you just don’t give yourself credit!

  5. Julie May 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    do it! do it! do it!

  6. denise May 10, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    you know what i’m going to say!!! go for it!!! the new registration process goes into effect this year but the new times aren’t until qualifying for 2013.

  7. Sarah S @RunningOnWords May 10, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Go for it! The worst that can happen is you don’t quite BQ but run a great race and have fun, right? Not that I think that’ll happen cause you are speedy!

  8. natalie May 10, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    so exciting! : ) I’m not sure my goal just yet either. I don’t want to think about boston specifically, but instead a time goal that would qualify me anyway.

  9. Shelly May 11, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I’m glad you held off on the 106 hours until last in your post because it always stops me dead! I’m not sure if I’m inspired or jealous! 😉

Leave a Reply

