Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Peer Pressure

First, there was this:

From: Amanda 

To: Denise, Abby

Date: Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 7:55 PM

Subject: Philly

Oh man, I’m starting to sweat just thinking about training through the Miami summer…but I think i’m convinced that Philly might just be the right marathon. 🙂
Then came this:

image

Followed quickly by this:

From: Amanda 

To: Denise, Abby

Date: Tue, Apr 5, 2011 at 5:51 PM

Subject: Philly Marathon

Ok so where did we end up with the Philly marathon, cause now I’m considering it all over!  🙂
Which inevitably led to this:
From: Abby 

To: Denise, Amanda

Date: Tue, Apr 5, 2011 at 5:53 PM

Subject: Re: Philly Marathon

Ha! I just saw your comment on Emily’s blog and wondered if I’d be hearing from you…What the hell? I’m in! 

And then, of course (because I have no impulse control), this:
So, Philly Marathon. November 20, 2011. A fun, no pressure, 26.2 mile jaunt through the City of Brotherly Love. Who’s in?

All the cool kids are doing it…
18 responses to “Peer Pressure

  1. MidlifeCruiser April 6, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Love it!! At least it’s a healthy addiction 🙂

  2. Kim (Book Worm Runs) April 6, 2011 at 5:42 am

    Woo-hoo!!! Yay for peer pressure and marathons!! 😉

  3. lauren April 6, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Haha. I have a feeling I will be signing up in the next week or so.

  4. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction April 6, 2011 at 8:23 am

    gah! Now I feel even more peer pressured into doing it!

  5. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday April 6, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Awesome! It’s good that you have a nice group to run with 😀

  6. Emily April 6, 2011 at 10:11 am

    LOVE IT. Seriously, your second comment made my night. It’s going to be SUCH a fun weekend!

  7. Denise April 6, 2011 at 10:29 am

    🙂 i’m torn! i want to do the full so badly but am worried it’s too risky with reggae 2 weeks later. i was going to register for the half for sure but now i’m wondering if i should register for the full. then downgrade if i need to?? ugh, what should i do???

    • Abby April 6, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      I say go for it! As you say, it’s easier to downgrade to the half than to upgrade to the full (though admittedly, I don’t know what the cost differential is). Plus, unless something drastic changes between now and then, I’m really just planning on running for fun, no pressure for time at all – if you take that approach, it could just count as your last long run for Reggae, right?

    • RunToTheFinish April 6, 2011 at 5:41 pm

      I decided to register for the full since it’s only $20 more and figure I can downgrade if needed

  8. Johann April 6, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Haha, I like this! So good…always time for another marathon!

  9. Julie (A Case of the Runs) April 6, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Sounds wonderful, but I’m doing a full already on 11/12 and have no desire to become a Maniac just yet!

  10. Laurie April 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I will come cheer you on (if I manage to wake up on time)! If I do any marathons this fall I am thinking it will be NYC but I haven’t even made up my mind about that yet. Although I have to soon — I think registration ends on 4/30.

  11. Elise April 6, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    whooohooo! marathon 🙂 i do want to do two this fall… 😉

  12. Mallory April 7, 2011 at 8:57 am

    Woohoo!!! How exciting!!!!

  13. Pingback: Training Well « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  14. Pingback: The Comeback Run « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  15. Pingback: Philadelphia Marathon 2011: “The Best Time of Your Life” « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

