Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

This Weekend, I…

-Went to sleep before 10:30 PM.

-Turned off the computer when I wasn’t doing work.

-Drank a lot of water (and some Powerade Zero… and a Blue Moon while going over race maps).

-Started a non-work-related book.

-Watched Butler beat Florida.

-Reevaluated my training plan.

We spent a fair bit of time working on the race course, including running through it with two of our teammates to get a sense of logistics and time.  I also spent awhile laying low (unfortunately missing a bridal shower and a trip to NY with friends), trying to recover from some junky lungs that have been persisting since I got sick a few weeks ago.

But all in all, a solid start to slowing down.

I’m looking forward to implementing some of the new strategies I came up with for training over the next few weeks, to see if I can get some power back in my legs (more on this later this week).

And I’m excited to try to integrate this reading/sleeping/unplugging routine into my everyday life.

For now, though, it’s time for a little road trip.  After I get home from work Tuesday, Brent and I are getting out of Dodge for a couple days and heading west for some high-peak fun in Pennsylvania, Maryland, and West Virginia.

Mount Davis, we're coming for you!

Maybe someday we’ll get to nab some peaks off the East Coast!

8 responses to “This Weekend, I…

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 28, 2011 at 6:12 am

    It is so importnant to unplug and rest every so often…glad you were able to get some down time this weekend!! 🙂 Good luck with Mount Davis…and have fun!!

  2. Denise March 28, 2011 at 8:14 am

    sounds like a nice wknd!! i need to start trying harder to disconnect at night and break the computer habit.

    have a fun trip this week!

  3. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 28, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Ooooh a mini vacation! Love it! I’m jealous! Have fun

  4. Johann March 28, 2011 at 9:10 am

    A good weekend overall. I can do with a mini vacation. I should make some plans… Have a great week!

  5. Mallory March 28, 2011 at 9:21 am

    What a great weekend!! Sounds like you were very productive. I definitely need to start a new book. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. Julie (A Case of the Runs) March 28, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Woo hoo! I’ve also been trying to slow down. I went to bed at 8:30 yesterday, ha ha!

  7. Elise March 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Sounds like an awesome weekend! I wish I had time for non-school related books…I’m hoping that time will come this summer!

    Have fun on your road trip!

  8. Anne March 28, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Slowing down and unplugging are musts once in a while…sounds like you are heading for a wonderful vacation!!

Leave a Reply

