Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Thorny Issues

Generally, you won’t see me in the woods without full-length tights.  Not for a short run or a leisurely hike, of course, but when I know there’s a possibility of venturing off-trail, I like as much protection as I can get.

Brent thinks I’m a wuss.  I say I’m just being smart.

Except today.

Today,  when we got to Marsh Creek for another day of course design, I realized that my tights were sitting on the couch, waiting to go into my bag.

Which meant that after 5+ hours on- and off-trail this afternoon, my legs looked like this:

And this…

And this…

Next time, I embrace my wussiness and pack my tights the night before.

8 responses to “Thorny Issues

  1. MidlifeCruiser March 20, 2011 at 5:35 am

    All you need is a marker & yall can play tic-tac-toe! Ouch!

  2. kelsey March 20, 2011 at 7:00 am

    Oh no!! Tough girl!

  3. middleagedrunner March 20, 2011 at 7:15 am

    Ouch! I ran bare legged thru a whole forest of poison ivy last year so I feel your pain. My Husband was less than impressed by my weeping, pustulating legs and suggested that I stick with tights too…. words of wisdom, for sure!

  4. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 20, 2011 at 8:16 am

    the scratches make you look hard core. Then again, with all your adventure racing, you’re already pretty hard core.

  5. Laurie March 20, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Ha, I am just now reading this. Thorns had it out for us yesterday, apparently.

  6. Mallory March 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Your poor legs!! I don’t blame you for wearing tights!!

  7. denise March 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    keep a spare pair in the car!! i don’t think you’re a wuss, i wouldn’t like that either!!

Leave a Reply

