Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

This and That

(1) It was beautiful in Philadelphia today.  Instead of playing outside, I spent the day at an archive reading oral histories about integration.  One of the interviews was with Jeremiah Wright, Sr., the integrationist father of Obama’s old pastor.  I guess that made up for it a little bit.

(2) I’m making up for it tomorrow with a hike up Hawk Mountain with my dad.

(3) Usually I subscribe to the (perhaps idealistic) belief that if everyone does something, big change can happen.  But the devastation in Japan has me second guessing that philosophy.  Brent and I had a long conversation about it this evening.  Even if everyone in the world makes a personal donation, will it really do anything?  I feel a sense of helplessness that’s bigger than personal impotence.  It’s almost a worldwide impotence as we sit and watch and wait… And it’s really scary.

(4) A friend recently sent the recipe of his Oscar-inspired True Grit chili.  I made it for dinner tonight and inadvertently added a little bit too much extra spice. I’m about to head out for a date with the treadmill.  This may be a bad idea.

(5) Temple beat Penn State to kick off March Madness today, ending a ten-year drought of first-round wins in the NCAA tournament.  After spending my undergrad days at a small all-women’s liberal arts school, it was fun to go to grad school with actual sports teams. Sorry, Lauren.  Go Owls!

6 responses to “This and That

  1. kelsey March 18, 2011 at 12:01 am

    Oooooh…a heartburn run…ENJOY! Or at least try not to puke!

  2. Johann March 18, 2011 at 6:34 am

    The whole situation in Japan is so sad and as you say so enormous. I wonder how many people realize how big this disaster is. Enjoy the hike up the mountain!

  3. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 18, 2011 at 8:17 am

    I found out that I put way more spice in my chili than the average person when I made it for my friends after they had a baby so they wouldn’t have to cook. She told me it was good, but that her husband had to eat 90% of it because she didn’t want her milk to be too spicy for the baby!

  4. Mallory March 18, 2011 at 8:50 am

    That sounds really interesting actually (the interviews). I find certain parts of history really interesting. Have fun hiking tomorrow! I know what you mean about making a difference. Where do we even begin?

  5. Brian March 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    The interviews sound fantastic. Hope the run went all right. And watching the news about Japan, I agree with the feelings of powerlessness. I also am sometimes amazed at just how resilient we humans are as a species when considering all the suffering we sometimes go through. I continue to give in hopes that helps in some small way, even in ways I may never directly be aware of.

  6. Julie March 18, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    That’s why I never make chili anymore. It totally does me in with heartburn! But it’s SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

