Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Character Building

Several weeks ago, Laurie and I made plans for today to run the Wissahickon loop – 17 miles of technical trails – with one caveat: “if it’s not, like, raining like a mofo or anything.”

This morning, the following text exchange took place before 6:00 AM:

Laurie: It is raining.

Me: It just doesn’t seem like any good can come of this.

Laurie: Swimming. Blisters.

Me: Mudslides. Trail erosion.

Laurie: Bears. Snakes. How about we wait until 7 when it’s light at least and just go for three hours instead of the whole thing?

Me: I’m not sure that extra half hour’s gonna do a lot for the conditions.  Blah, I’m apparently terrible at character building.

Laurie: The conditions will suck but at least there will be light.  And in CR in June it pours (but it is warm).  Another option…

And this is how Laurie and I found ourselves on side-by-side bike trainers in the warmth and dryness of her house at 7:30 this morning.

The ride consisted of:

This...

and this...

And a little of:

and          

This was my first time ever on a real trainer, and I discovered there was a bit of a learning curve when Laurie stopped me an hour and a half in to figure out why the machine was making so much noise.  It turned out that I had the tension up way too high.

What a difference that made!

It was also my first time on a road bike since 2008, and by the end, my usual sore quads were replaced by sore hamstrings and a sorer, um, seat.

Still, the three hours passed relatively quickly, and by 10:30, we were both feeling pretty good about our productive start to the day.

From there, Laurie went in for a full day of work.

And me?

I’m writing and researching in Philly this week since my school is on spring break… which today meant coming straight home for a nice long nap.

12 responses to “Character Building

  1. Mallory March 16, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Haha I hope you enjoyed your nap!! Sounds like a good time! I’m glad you and Laurie had fun!! I don’t blame you for avoiding the rain. I almost always stay out of it!

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 16, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    i’ll take indoors over snakes and chaffing any day. Still a really solid start to your day!

  3. Julie (A Case of the Runs) March 16, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I’m saving up for one of these… I imagine it would be pretty noisy!

  4. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 16, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    I can just picture you guys riding side by side on your trainers!! Love it! I definitely do not blame you for staying out of that weather, I would have done the same thing!! Way to start your day off on an awesome foot!! 🙂

  5. Stephanie March 16, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Nice work listening to the weather!

  6. Laurie March 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I just bought four more bottles of Powerade Zero — on sale for 79 cents in addition to the magic cupon = a steal.

  7. Nellie (The Midlife Cruiser) March 17, 2011 at 1:22 am

    😦 First of all, I want to let you know that I’ve commented on several of your posts by hitting “reply” tp the emails I get of your blog, and when I looked back yesterday, I didn’t see ANY of them!!! I guess that little feature doesn’t work! BOO!

    I LOVE your indoor training marathon you had 🙂 AWESOME idea! It’s like a personal spin class. You’re so lucky to live near a friend who loves the same stuff you do…shows included!

    Nellie

    • Abby March 17, 2011 at 8:03 am

      Sorry that that feature doesn’t work! I would say that I’ll look into it, but I’d have no idea where to begin. It’s good to hear from you this way. 🙂

  8. denise March 17, 2011 at 7:34 am

    love naps!!!

    i would like the bike trainer so much better if i had company next to me!

  9. RunToTheFinish March 17, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    side by side trainers sounds fun!! I keep thinking about getting one, just to get me going on building mileage, I just happen to be cheap

Leave a Reply

