Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Long Live DSW

Some of you will be happy to know, I headed to a real running store today for some new shoes.

Admittedly, I would have gone to the Bryn Mawr Running Company even without that DSW shame hanging over my head – I’d made a date earlier in the week with a friend who’s new to running in her post-high school life and wanted some help in purchasing her first pair of running shoes – but I also felt sort of obligated, after a couple, um, persuasive comments about the illegitimacy of the dreaded discount dealer.

I’d traded with a running buddy a groupon to a different store for a gift certificate to this one, and I was fully prepared to take the salesman’s advice about what to purchase.

We chatted briefly about my intended purpose for the shoes and I mentioned that I’d never found a true go-to road shoe. ย He had me try on a handful of pairs of neutral shoes (I may, according to Brent, bop up and down when I run, but I don’t pronate), and when all was said and done, I opted for a pair of Saucony ProGrid Ride 3’s. ย They felt comfortable and sturdy, cushioned but not too soft, light but supportive.

And best of all, they’re red.

Between the groupon and the unexplained 10% discount I received, I paid $52 for these shoes, about the same amount that I spent at DSW 14 months ago and a lot less than I would have paid if I’d purchased them outright.

When I returned home, I decided to take a look my recently-retired shoes.

And wouldn’t you know, they were the previous model of those exact same Saucony ProGrid Ride’s.

All of a sudden, DSW’s not looking so shabby… and maybe I’ve found that go-to shoe after all.

10 responses to “Long Live DSW

  1. middleagedrunner March 12, 2011 at 7:10 am

    I love the red shoes- I am tempted to snag another pair of the Mizunos that I’m in love with but in red. Because red is a fast color? Dunno- but I like them!

  2. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 12, 2011 at 7:37 am

    My first pair of running shoes were Saucony’s and I loved them! ๐Ÿ™‚ Mine were blue, though…red is much better!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I now run in a pink pair of Brooks Adrenalines!! Enjoy the new shoes!!

  3. denise March 12, 2011 at 11:56 am

    ha!! guess you know enough on your own to pick the right shoe!! can’t beat that price!

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) March 12, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Can’t wait until I figure out which shoe is right for me… then I’d start trekking around to places like that for good deals!

  5. Black Knight March 12, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Good and beautiful shoes at a very interesting price!

  6. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 12, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    hahaha, pure luck! Kidding! Mike bops up and down when he runs too! don’t tell him, though, he gets touchy when I mention it lol

  7. Laurie March 13, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I love the mysterious BMRC 10% discount.
    My first ever pair of actual running shoes were Saucony’s. I still have them. They are covered in paint, are dry rotting, are 17 years old and I can’t bring myself to toss them.

  8. Mallory March 14, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Haha I cannot believe you were fitted for the same shoes! I also cannot believe you didn’t recognize them when you tried them on :p

    http://mwrun6.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

