Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Growing Up

I spent last night chattering my teeth in a Newark, New Jersey motel.

Yep, that’s right – on the night that my class ended earlier, the night that I brought my running clothes, the night that I was staying at a place with a functional treadmill, I got sick.

It actually came on Sunday evening, as I sat in a darkened movie theater watching a preview screening of Bradley Cooper’s latest flick, Limitless.  Cooper graduated from the high school where Brent teaches almost two decades ago, but it seems that any time he has a big film released, he invites teachers and alums from his alma mater to come to check out.

The movie was fair (perhaps I would have enjoyed it more if I wasn’t focused on not sniffling), and by the time we got home, I knew I was out of luck.

I woke up yesterday morning with my throat on fire, stopped en route to school for some cough drops and zinc, and by the time I sat down at my desk, I had the chills.

So when I got to the motel last night after a full day of grading and teaching, I had a decision to make: should I battle through and get in my planned run, or should I take the day off in hopes that I’d be cured by morning.

In the past, this would’ve been a no-brainer – I would have been downstairs on that treadmill trying to sweat out the bug.

But last night, I held back.  Instead of taking to the motel gym, I put off my course prep, climbed into bed at 7:45, and watched bad television until I fell asleep.

Dare I say, I think I’m growing up.

11 responses to “Growing Up

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 8, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Yikes, I hope you feel better. That stinks, you weren’t even home!

    Side note, that’s kind of cool about Bradley Cooper. Mike and I were just talking about him the other day. I told him that I didn’t think he was too good looking, but apparently found his cocky attitude attractive. To which Mike said, “isn’t that always the way with girls?”

  2. denise March 8, 2011 at 8:46 am

    😦 feel better soon!!

  3. Mallory March 8, 2011 at 8:59 am

    Feel better soon! I think a huge part about being an athlete is deciding when to push and when to step back. I think you made the right call! That’s cool that Bradley Cooper does that!

  4. Julie March 8, 2011 at 11:03 am

    oh no! I’ve been downing zinc and Emergen-C like nobodies business and I think it has really helped in keeping my family’s germs away from me!

    Take care!!!!!!

  5. Emily March 8, 2011 at 11:09 am

    you made the right choice. feel better soon!

  6. Jill March 8, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Blahhhhh, so very sorry you’re sick! You made the wise choice, though I know it wasn’t easy. Hope you’re feeling peppy soon :).

  7. Angela Kidd March 8, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Hope you are feeling better. If you got the stomach bug that was going around here, it’s horrible. And good job doing the smart thing.

  8. nobel4lit March 8, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Good choice, especially with nobody there to take care of you. Poor thing. Feel better!

  9. Stephanie March 8, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Aww man! That stinks! I hope you are feeling better! The throat on fire is the worst!

  10. Natalie March 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    i learned that I’ mold when my babysitter said the people she was sitting for this weekend were getting home at 11 which wasnt too late for her to still go out : )

  11. Pingback: This Weekend, I… « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

