Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

London or Bust

Brent and I have been lucky over the course of our relationship, to have gotten to take some pretty phenomenal summer trips.

There was our month-long Italian honeymoon (give me private rooms in hostels over hotels any day if it means we can extend the trip a little longer)…

And our six-week road trip through New England and southeastern Canada.

Then came a month of backpacking through Central Europe (professional development grants are a wonderful thing)

Followed by four weeks of Andean adventures in Peru and Ecuador.

After some serious back-and-forth, we made the decision a couple months ago to keep the summer of 2011 a bit more low key.  True, if all goes according to plan we’ll be traveling to British Columbia for the Raid the North Extreme.  And we just got confirmation this week that we’ll be joining my parents and sister for a couple weeks on the Big Island of Hawaii in August to celebrate some big birthdays and anniversaries.

For the most part, though, we’ll be sticking to Philly this summer.

Part of the rationale is us trying to be responsible adults – Brent will be focusing on grad school, and I’ll be hard at work revising my dissertation into a book.

But perhaps the biggest factor in this decision is the chance to save up for our plans for the summer of 2012.

Since, oh, about two weeks after we started dating, Brent and I have been fantasizing about spending next July in London, at the 2012 Olympic Games.  Those fantasies became a little more concrete a couple years ago, when we realized that a few of Brent’s students will be competing for spots on the U.S. swim team, and at least one should make the cut (he’s promised to help us secure tickets to his events).

In the past few months, there’s been even more chatter, as I’ve begun to receive emails announcing ticket sales and prices.

And now, in just a couple weeks, tickets for London will be released, and we’ll have some decisions to make.

Swimming is a must-see, and after stumbling upon the 2009 IAAF (track and field) world championships in Berlin and having the chance to watch Usain Bolt set a world record, I’d love to catch some track events as well.  In my dream scenario, we’ll also have enough money for the opening or closing ceremonies, gymnastics, the marathon and triathlon, and perhaps a little basketball as well.

But there’s no way that’s going to happen.

If you could attend any Olympic event, what would it be?

Strange as it is to be making plans for 15 months from now, in the next few weeks we’ll be pricing tickets and figuring out our options, and hopefully nailing down where we’ll be in the summer of 2012.

I’m envisioning a few weeks of hiking in Ireland and Scotland before heading to a friend’s flat in London for the big show.

And after that – who knows?  Perhaps we’ll get to work on the next generation of olympic hopefuls…

14 responses to “London or Bust

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 7, 2011 at 5:47 am

    OMG!!!! Abby, that is SO cool that you were there to see Usain Bolt break the record!!! 🙂 That London trip sounds AMAZING! I would definitely want to see the swimming and the track and field events 🙂 I hope it works out and you are able to go!!

  2. middleagedrunner March 7, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Lots of Olympic Events that I’d like to see.. definately track events, equestrian (Freestyle finals, XCountry day of the 3 Day) and maybe some diving too! sounds like an incredible trip- one worth staying home this summer and saving up for!

  3. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 7, 2011 at 8:13 am

    That sounds amazing! I don’t know what I’d want to see if I could choose. Probably diving.

    Since you’re going to be around, maybe we can find a race in between CT and PA and meet up with you guys!

    Also, when I got the cinnamon bun at Ikea, my friend got the froyo and shared some with me. DELICIOUS.

  4. denise March 7, 2011 at 8:44 am

    that’s sounds awesome!!! i would love to see track and field events, i think. the speed of the runners amazes me, can’t imagine it in person.

    oooh, and hawaii sounds fabulous!

  5. Mallory March 7, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Man you live a cool life! That is awesome!! If I could see any Olympic event… well in the summer it would be swimming (some track events would be a close second) and in the winter it would be hockey!

  6. Larry March 7, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I think handball would be fun to watch because when do you ever get to see handball being played? I’d also see any of the sprints and jumping events in track, as well as beach and indoor volleyball (I’m a volleyball player, so I’m partial to that).

  7. Emily March 7, 2011 at 10:38 am

    SO jealous!!! I would go to swimming. In a heartbeat. Please take me in your suitcase! Or just set me up with one of these swimmers…either way.

  8. Laurie March 7, 2011 at 11:41 am

    For summer, I’d go for marathon and women’s soccer. But, if I really got to pick, I’d head to Sochi in 2014 for cross-country skiing, hockey, short track speed skating and bobsled.

  9. nobel4lit March 7, 2011 at 11:42 am

    That sounds fun! I want to go to a World Cup event, so maybe I can live a similar dream out, too!

  10. Brian March 7, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Oh Abby, your and Brent’s London plans make me swoon. If I had to choose an event I’d probably at first say them all, and limit myself to perhaps some of the track and field, and definitely swimming. I hope it all goes smoothly as far as planning. And I’ll be one of the folks looking for some photos from the trip!

  11. Brie March 8, 2011 at 1:24 am

    Wow! Sounds so exciting! I would love to go to an Olympics, it is on my life list for sure. Can’t wait to hear all about the journey.

  12. RunToTheFinish March 8, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    oh now that is awesome. hmmm 1 event, gosh that’s really hard actually. David loves the winter sports like half pipe, we both loved watching swimming last year…but having been to an actual swim meet I know there are some blah parts…man I don’t know what I’d choose!

  13. Pingback: In search of William Wallace « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

