Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Soulmates

This afternoon, when Brent and I took our canoe out for its weekly walk, a woman remarked, “I read about you two in the paper.”

“Pardon?” I asked, not sure I had heard her correctly.

She went on to recount an article that had appeared in the local newspaper recently, about a couple of area teachers who train by carrying a canoe around their neighborhood. Β The school she named is one that people often confuse with the school where Brent teaches.

Baffled, we continued on our way, trying to figure out whether it was possible that someone had seen us out the week before.

“Seriously, that must be it,” Brent said. “It’s not like there are two couples running around the neighborhood with a boat overhead.”

As it turns out, there are.

In January of this year, the Philadelphia Inquirer ran a story about two local teachers who take nightly walks around the neighborhood with their red canoe.

“It’s a terrific whole-body workout,” the guy is quoted as saying.

Looks like our Old Town may have found its soulmate.

12 responses to “Soulmates

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) March 4, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Haha! Seriously?! That is awesome!! What are the odds?? πŸ˜‰

  2. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction March 4, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    Be careful, it could be bizarro Abby and Brent! πŸ˜‰ That’s funny stuff.

  3. Julie (A Case of the Runs) March 4, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I just started taking my super energetic puppy for walks now that he has all his shots… and now I see this canoe-walking business and suddenly feel less accomplished. =)

  4. Brian March 4, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    That is too funny. Reminds me of the time I found out there were two other people with my name in my community. One was a hero cop; the other a criminal. Getting mistook for one was definitely better than the other! πŸ™‚

    • Abby March 5, 2011 at 12:24 am

      Brian, there was just a book written about that! Was it the case in your neighborhood?

      • Brian March 6, 2011 at 12:31 pm

        Abby, the case of the criminal actually was. The first time I came across criminal Brian was when I was away at college. A gentleman of the same name was arrested for stealing a car in my parents’ neighborhood. Can you imagine their concern when they started getting calls from friends in a very small suburb wondering what drove me down such a dark path?

        The other occurrence, with hero cop, happened while shopping with my mother. The store clerk asked my mom if she was related to Brian repeated as my mom looked at me confused before we put two-and-two together.

  5. Black Knight March 5, 2011 at 4:47 am

    Too funny!!!
    I miss my kayak, I sold it 4 years ago because I don’t have the time to play many sports: a beautiful english boat for competitions.
    Have a good week-end.

  6. middleagedrunner March 5, 2011 at 7:13 am

    OMG. Taking your canoe out for a walk! You have officially stepped into the twilight zone/bizzaro world. Yikes!

  7. RunToTheFinish March 6, 2011 at 6:53 am

    oh my gosh that’s crazy! maybe twenty years from now that will still be you and you’ll get a story πŸ™‚

    ok so if I sign up for Philly…will you run it too?

  8. denise March 6, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    wow, that is too funny. i thought for sure it had to be about you two!! i know i don’t know anyone else who carries a canoe around!

  9. Mallory March 7, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Who would have thought!?!!?

  10. Shelly March 10, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Oh how I miss my “canoe” racing. (We actually called our “canoe” a Diller because John Diller made our racing boats. Think crew but solo or duo.) I loved those days! I miss the water. (being on top of it anyway) Maybe when the kids are finally grown?!

    It’s awesome that you have another couple doing such great workouts too!

Leave a Reply

