Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Filmic Friday: Filmic Failure

Well, my Oscar Cook-Off was a bit of a failure.  A number of people said they’d be submitting entries, but when it came down to it, only Heather followed through with her True Love Grits.

So, Heather, thanks for humoring me – I’ll be emailing you for your address and sending a little something your way.

I was disappointed at first, but then decided that even if not everyone shares my excitement about this weekend’s festivities, I’m not going to let it spoil the fun.  I’ve gotten a dozen emails from friends this week, jazzed about their movie-inspired masterpieces for Sunday’s party, and I can’t wait to see what folks come up with!

Initially I’d planned to leave the creativity to the party guests, but really, I enjoy it too much to let everyone else have all the fun.

I’ll be finalizing the menu during tomorrow’s planned adventure, but I’ve got already got dishes in the works for The Fighter, Inception, and 127 Hours.

Stop in Monday to talk winners and losers!  Or, if you’re not so interested, don’t – that’s okay, too 🙂

5 responses to “Filmic Friday: Filmic Failure

  1. Kara February 25, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Ack! I’m sorry I missed this. I’m a new reader (friend of Laurie and Bill’s) but I was thinking about making Winter’s Bone-In Pork Chops on Sunday. I love the Oscars and plan to kick ass in my office pool, even though I’m running it and people may protest if I win. Have fun this weekend!

    • Abby February 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      Thanks for your note, Kara! I love the bone-in pork chops idea 🙂 I’m trying to come up with something to tie the amputation theme in Winter’s Bone, True Grit, and 127 Hours. One friend suggested Wingless Chicken, which I thought was kind of brilliant, but I have no idea how to go about making it!.

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 25, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    I’m excited to see what comes out of your party. Even thinking now, I’m stumped as to what I’d make. maybe I need to watch more movies. I think that’s a good solution!

  3. denise February 25, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    aw, i’m sorry! you know i don’t know squat about movies unless you recommend one and i actually follow through and watch it! enjoy the oscars!

  4. Natalie February 26, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    I’m sorry that it was a failure. I thought it was a great idea!

Leave a Reply

