Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Excuses

The alarm goes off.

Just a few minutes more.

My nose is stuffed.

My calves are sore.

 

It’s cold outside

It looks like rain.

There’s work to do.

Who needs to train?

 

There’s no clean clothes.

There might be ice.

Can’t find my gloves.

My bed sounds nice.

 

I brush my teeth.

Pull on my shoes.

The doorbell rings.

No time to shmooze.

 

I greet my friend.

I start my watch.

A slow warm-up.

Take it up a notch.

 

We hit the hills.

We’re halfway done.

Then I recall…

…that this is fun!

12 responses to “Excuses

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 24, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    hahaha I like it. Also, interesting that you write poems when trying to come up with excuses. love it

  2. Julie (A Case of the Runs) February 24, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I love it! Captures my feelings exactly on those days when I would rather sleep in than go out for a run…. ice part not applicable, though! =)

  3. Angela Kidd February 24, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Love it!

  4. Anne February 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Love it!! 🙂

  5. Julie February 24, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    MOST AWESOME POEM EVER! Seriously…I loved it THAT much 🙂

  6. amanda@runninghood February 25, 2011 at 1:35 am

    yes it is fun! 🙂 And it makes life so much better!

  7. Elise February 25, 2011 at 2:12 am

    that was totally me this morning. luckily i made myself make up for it this afternoon 🙂

  8. Mallory February 25, 2011 at 11:20 am

    Great poem!!! I’m glad I ran last night because it was pouring this morning and there is no way I would have gotten up!

  9. denise February 25, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    cute!! another talent you have!

Leave a Reply

