Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Plan

I had big plans for this weekend.  I just got my beautiful bike back from getting overhauled (Ah, the Brucemobile… I had no idea I could be so attached to a mechanical object!) and I’m itching for an outdoor ride.

Brent’s heading south this weekend for a race in Virginia and I’m unable to partake because of a work obligation, so I was eagerly anticipating a Saturday of riding toward Reading and back.

But then Brent got word that his beloved Niner (seriously, I compete with that bike for Brent’s affection) has a small crack in the frame.  Hopefully, he’ll have it back in time for our first adventure race this April (and even more hopefully, it’s still under warranty – that was an expensive frame!), but for this weekend’s outing, he has no other option but to borrow my ride.

I told him that he’d better have it back perfectly readjusted and spotlessly clean… or else.

Of course, the Niner’s demise (and the fact that I’m such a nice wife) means that I have to reevaluate my ideas for the weekend.

Which leads me to… The Plan.

I’m going to wake up Saturday morning and jump on the bike at home for an indoor century ride.  It’ll be just me and my schwinn, pedaling the day away…

Am I nuts?

Quite likely…

Will I be cursing myself come mile 50 when I still have three hours to go?

Definitely a possibility…

But what have I got to lose?

Feel free to send me movie suggestions, creative fuel recommendations, and long comments to keep me distracted come Saturday!

16 responses to “The Plan

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 23, 2011 at 8:32 am

    That actually sounds awesome. I think I’m just itching to be able to do a long run so I’m jealous of anyone who can schedule a really long exercise session. I haven’t done a long run in about a month and I’m starting to get antsi! Good luck! Maybe you’ll win CSN $$ and can order compression sleeves to rest up for afterwards 🙂

  2. Mallory February 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Holy wow! That will be a major feat of mind over matter!! I think you can totally do it!

  3. Julie February 23, 2011 at 10:43 am

    Nice idea.
    I mean crazy idea!

    I can’t wait to hear how this goes…
    Pic really good movies to watch!

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) February 23, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Wow, I’m actually going to buy an indoor trainer at some point for my bike, though I couldn’t imagine doing that much on there!

    As for recommendations, ummm, movies, TV, magazines, someone to talk to, PB&Js, sports drinks if you do those, and yogurt.

  5. Angela Kidd February 23, 2011 at 11:28 am

    I’ve done many any indoor century ride. I think it shows my lack of love for cycling that I prefer being on the trainer to riding outdoors. All I can say is lots and lots of bad TV.

    • Abby February 23, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      It’s funny – I love long rides with friends or teammates, but always dread them by myself. I’ll be interested to see whether the indoor ride is better than a solo-outdoor ride.

  6. denise February 23, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    yea…no way i could handle that!!!

    and YES!! we have to ride together this spring/summer. i need all the help i can get!

  7. Laurie February 23, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Hope this doesn’t sound too mean, but YUCK! Man, you are brave. I was about to offer my MTB for your weekend riding adventure until I remembered that it goes in for an overhaul (including sawing off two inches of the handle bars) tomorrow.
    Breaking Away and American Flyers are my go-tos when I brave more than an hour on the trainer. We own them if you don’t and want to borrow them. And I’ve also taken to reading Outside and Trail Runner while on the trainer. And I would cry without my iPod. I usually don’t ride the trainer long enough to necessitate anything other than a Nuun or Gatorade but for something that long I’d try a cake or an ice cream sundae.

  8. Jill February 23, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I am the queen of mulitasking as much as I can when I have mega miles on the treadmill. A good movie, a good magazine, iPod and my phone to read emails. 🙂

  9. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    That sounds crazy but totally amazing at the same time!! 🙂 LOL! Good luck Abby!!!

  10. Christina February 24, 2011 at 7:55 am

    You have more willpower than me. Ride 100 miles on a stationary bike is true determination.

  11. RunToTheFinish February 24, 2011 at 11:09 am

    woooooow isn’t that like me trying to run a marathon on a treadmill… I might be able to with the right movie

  12. Bill February 24, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    American Flyers and Breaking away for sure. All 6 Star Wars also makes for a great day! REI sells a bike thong to keep sweat off your bike and it has a remote control holder.

  13. Pingback: Filmic Friday: Filmic Failure « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  14. Brie March 3, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Its been fun to catch up on the blog and to hear about your century ride at home. I admire that dedication. I thought of you this weekend b/c the New Zealand Ironman is going on in the town we were hanging out in and its so inspiring to watch everyone train. Good luck with the spring training!! And the Oscar food contest sounds like it was so much fun! Can’t wait to see some pictures and participate next year!

Leave a Reply

