Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

The Evolution of an Adventure Racer

2006: I looked at Brent in wonderment as he attempted his first race…

June 2007: I volunteered at a race… and told the director, “there’s no way I could ever do this.”

October 2007: My first six-hour race…

2008: My first 12-hour race…

2009: My first 24-hour race…

2010: My first multi-day race…

2011: Course Design.

How’s that for progress?

Last week, Brent and I learned that we would be directing the 2011 GOALS Savage, a six-hour sprint adventure race this April in southeastern Pennsylvania.  While we won’t be on site on race-day (we’ll be at the tail end of a 28-hour race along the Blue Ridge Parkway), we will be doing all of the course design and layout leading up to the event.

We’ll be planning routes…

And plotting points…

And making maps…

And thinking about all kinds of unique extras we can throw in along the way.

Brent co-directed one race before – the 2009 Savage – to rave reviews.  I’m hoping that we can pull off similar feats for 2011.

Five years ago, I could never have imagined becoming so involved in this crazy world.  Now, I can’t imagine anything else.

As Chris, GOALS teammate and Brent’s 2009 co-director, says, “adventure racing has provided a physical, mental, and emotional awakening that I simply did not achieve in other endurance sports.  The combination of working together as a team, learning new skills, enjoying the natural environment, and testing my limits has provided me with tremendous satisfaction and self-confidence.  I realized all this in my first adventure race nearly 14 years ago!”

Don’t forget – you can win a chance to race on our course this April!

Nervous about dipping your toe in?  Come on out and volunteer!  You’ll get a discounted entry toward a future GOALS race.  Contact me for more information.

9 responses to “The Evolution of an Adventure Racer

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 14, 2011 at 7:17 am

    How cool and exciting for you guys!! 🙂 It is amazing to see how far you have come in 5 years!

  2. Lyvia February 14, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I said the very same thing reading your post! “I could never do this!” lol You go, girl! 🙂

  3. Mallory February 14, 2011 at 9:13 am

    That’s so cool! I can’t imagine how exciting that is! You rock!!

  4. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 14, 2011 at 9:38 am

    that’s awesome! You’re big time! 🙂 I’m still terrified though.

  5. Elise February 14, 2011 at 11:33 am

    that’s quite the evolution 😉 but it sounds like an amazing — and really fun — opportunity for something you really enjoy and are passionate about! can’t wait to hear about the deets of planning and eventually the course itself!

  6. denise February 14, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    oh…my…gosh! that’s so cool. they could not have picked two people better suited for this!!

  7. Johann February 15, 2011 at 6:54 am

    I absolutely love everything about this. That progress from 2006 – 2011 is just fantastic! I love the “hour” races. I’ve done 12, 24, 48 and 6 day races. All of these on 1km loop courses. Being involved with running and adventure racing like you are is a dream of many people I know. You are awesome!

  8. Pingback: Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  9. Pingback: Send in the Clowns « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

