Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Why I Like Bumper Stickers

It’s been a bit of a rough couple weeks in these parts.

I’m struggling to find a rhythm this semester and the weather is making my just-barely-tolerable commute to North Jersey a bit too much to handle.  With Brent back in grad school, he’s busier than he’s ever been and I’m not much doing better, and we’re both trying to log multiple-hour workouts several days a week, which means we’re operating at maximum capacity on 5-6 hours of sleep a night.  We’re working on settling into a (temporary) new routine, but in the meantime, there’s been more than a couple tears shed.

Yesterday afternoon, I was driving home after a (fantastic) morning of teaching, and fighting mightily to keep my eyes open (not to worry, mom – I’m always aware of when I’m too sleepy to drive.  I catnap in my car at least once a week).  I pulled into a grocery store parking lot not far from home and got out of the car to shake out my legs and pick up some produce.  I was a little groggy and a little grumpy and not all that excited to be around people.

After snagging a few necessities, I got back into my car and began to pull out when a mini-van behind me started honking emphatically.  I looked in my rear-view mirror and saw a woman sticking her head out and waving at me.  I couldn’t tell if she was friend or foe, but I knew I hadn’t done anything wrong and was a bit frustrated by the delay.

I rolled down my window and looked back at her warily, and she put her arm in the air enthusiastically and yelled, “Woo hoo!  Go 26.2!!”

She had me smiling for the rest of the afternoon.

7 responses to “Why I Like Bumper Stickers

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 12, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    LOL! That is awesome! 🙂 I hope you get into a groove soon!!

  2. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 12, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    hahaha, that is cool, would totally give me a boost. I’m going to make mike buy me a 26.2 after I run the marathon 🙂 Hope things start to ease up for you. This weather is killing everyone.

  3. Stephanie February 13, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    That’s awesome! It’s a great reminder of how something so little can really provide a great pick-me-up! Not to be confused with 26.2 being little…it is NOT. It’s a huge accomplishment…I just meant the lady’s compliment. 🙂

  4. Black Knight February 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    I think she was a runner. We are a nice community!

  5. Laurie February 13, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Ha, nice!
    Something sort of similar happened to me yesterday whe I was biking home — I had a big old adventure race pack on, was going into a headwind and was tired. I just wanted to be home. And then some dude out for a run yelled “Go adventure racer!” Made me smile.

  6. Mallory February 14, 2011 at 9:10 am

    That’s so awesome!! I love when stuff like that happens!!

  7. denise February 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    aw, that’s awesome!! that would have made my day.

    sorry to hear things are rough right now. you know i feel for your commute. hope you get yourself into a routine that’s not too tiring soon. rest up!

Leave a Reply

