Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Taking Maniac to a New Level

This past week, Belgian runner Stefaan Engels crushed previous records by running 365 marathons – in as many days.

Source

Yesterday, a friend of mine sent me and Brent a link to the story with the line, “makes Dean look like a wimp.”

My response? “I kinda want to do it :)”

Brent thought I was nuts. ย “Winning the survey [a hard-fought tradition at the annual Superbowl party we attend] last night must have short-circuited something in your brain,” he wrote. “That said, I will run #366 with you if you go for it!”

Judy replied, “You’re both sick.”

What do you think? ย Do people like this inspire you, or do you read these articles and think, why would anyone want to do that sort of thing?

Sure, there’s always something a little bit nuts about these ultra-endurance endeavors… But I’ll admit, there’s a part of me that wants to join in.

**I should note that Judy has run plenty of marathons and halfs and competed in several triathlons, so she’s got some crazy in her, too**

15 responses to “Taking Maniac to a New Level

  1. Mallory February 8, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Yes, people like that inspire me as well and it tends to lead me toward some crazy thoughts!! I think it’s good to have moments like that though where you feel like because someone else can do something so insane that maybe you can step outside your comfort zone a little and do something crazy as well! I’ll run #367 with you!

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 8, 2011 at 9:22 am

    It kind of makes my knees hurt just thinking about what these people do. At the same time, it is incredible and it makes me wonder what kinds of things my body is capable of. That being said, I’m going to stick to just a couple of marathons this year…

  3. Emily February 8, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Totally inspires me. I mean, I know I could never run 365 marathons in a year without breaking every bone in my body. But I love it!

  4. denise February 8, 2011 at 10:02 am

    oh, i look at it and think “i want to do that!!!” and then i wonder how people have time do this. i mean, with work and life, etc. but i still think it’s really cool.

  5. Angela Kidd February 8, 2011 at 10:47 am

    I think it’s awesome and you guys should go for it! I’d be curious how’d you’d find the time for it. That would be the biggest challenge. But you don’t have kids and you are young and healthy so I’m sure there’s a way.

  6. middleagedrunner February 8, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I wonder how they work? Perhaps all the running is a full time paying gig? I imagine that they must get sponsors, etc.
    But no, I have no desire! Good for all of you who do!

  7. nobel4lit February 8, 2011 at 11:12 am

    I saw this story come up this weekend… that’s crazy! I’d run 2 races in a weekend, but I wouldn’t extend my athletic feats beyond that. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can’t even work OUT 365 days in a year… I’m pretty sure I miss around 80-100 days each year. =)

  8. Samantha Angela @ Bikini Birthday February 8, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    This guy is insane. I wish I had the time to do that many marathons in as many days.

  9. Johann February 8, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    I’m also inspired but these people and often think of some crazy run I would like to attempt one day. I have a few plans up my sleeve…:)

  10. lauren February 8, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Ha, I definitely think these people are insane, but it’s definitely inspiring!

  11. Bill February 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I am crazy enough to understand why he wanted to this, think his training and perseverance is awesome, but I am generally not inspired by people who do something boring with their lives. I mean a marathon? Really? I think we tamed that beast. He averaged 4 hours. If he aveeraged 3 hours, maybe. But 4? He needs to get a hairacut and a real hobby, like adventure racing.

  12. Bill February 8, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I am crazy enough to understand why he wanted to this, think his training and perseverance is awesome, but I am generally not inspired by people who do something boring with their lives. I mean a marathon? Really? I think we tamed that beast. He averaged 4 hours. If he averaged 3 hours, maybe. But 4? He needs to get a haircut and a real hobby, like adventure racing.

  13. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 8, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Definitely inspires me!! That is just amazing!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Laurie February 8, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    My desire to do something like this is zero. I have the attention span of a flea.
    And I guess it is all relative — some people think that a 5k is an insane distance to run, for others a marathon is absurd … for this guy apparently 366 marathons in 366 days is his line for crazy.

  15. Stephanie February 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I think both thoughts…”these people are crazy” and “what an accomplishment”! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

