Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

A Generations-Old Battle…

Today, starting at 8:00 AM EST over at Jogging with Fiction, Kari is hosting a blogger bake sale to raise money for Kisses for Katie, an organization that provides support for families needing to spend extended periods of time in hospitals (sometime I’ll tell you more about my own experience with this…).

Do you remember that mom of mine?  The one who keeps her freezer stocked with fresh cranberries and frozen bananas, just in case her daughters have an urge to bake?

Well, to help out with Kari’s efforts, my mom and I are going head-to-head.

That’s right – a mother-daughter bake-off, in the best way possible.  If you bid on the chocolate chip-cranberry bread, all the money will go to Kisses for Katie and you’ll get not one but two loaves of sorta-tart-sorta-sweet perfection… one baked by the aging master, and one by the next generation.

At first, I thought that my mom would play fair – I figured we’d use the same recipe, the same ingredients (even the same cranberries, since I bought a big bag at our local co-op and divided it in two).  But when she handed me an index card with the recipe printed out, I noticed that she’d made some key substitutions.

Where was the plain yogurt?  The orange zest?

Was she trying to rig the contest?

Well, mom, the jig is up.  I’m onto you – and I’m fighting fire with fire.

You may have given me a dummy recipe, but I made some choice changes of my own to up the ante.

Think homemade apple-clementine sauce and big ol’ chocolate chunks.

So what are you waiting for?  Go bid on our bread!  And you’ll get to decide which generation comes out victorious.

8 responses to “A Generations-Old Battle…

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 5, 2011 at 6:20 am

    Ha ha! Love it!! 🙂 I will be a bidding machine today…so many yummy things and the bread is right up my ally!! 😉

  2. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 5, 2011 at 7:10 am

    hahahaha, you guys are awesome. This is going to be great!

  3. the dawn February 5, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    that sneaky mom! good thing you’re on to her!

  4. amanda@runninghood February 5, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Okay, I must go see what this Kisses for Katie is all about…I’m so out of the loop! Your bread looks fabulous!

  5. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 5, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I won your bread!!! 🙂 Can’t wait to be the judge in this epic Mother/Daughter bake off 😉 Bwhahahaha!!

  6. janae@hungryrunnergirl.com February 6, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Your mom is awesome!! Girl, you bread looks amazing and I am so jealous you are having those cookies tonight…I might have to copy you! Have so much fun gorgeous girl!

  7. Christina February 6, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    I’m a day late! I love cranberry bread and have a bag of frozen cranberries in my freezer too. I didn’t think about freezing the bananas to bake with. Brilliant idea.

  8. Mallory February 7, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Sounds like a great cause! That bread looks great!

Leave a Reply

