Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Filmic Friday: The AR Edition

Since I’m now bound and determined to turn you on to adventure racing one blog post at a time (don’t worry – I promise that not all posts will be AR-related), today’s Filmic Friday is dedicated to the race to end all races…

Eco-Challenge.

Created and produced by Mark Burnett of Survivor fame, the Eco-Challenge adventure races spanned several days and covered roughly 500 kilometers of ground.  It’s the race that turned Brent on to AR when he watched Burnett’s Emmy-winning television series as a kid, so indirectly, it’s the race that got me into the sport.

Sure, it may not technically be a film, but it sure makes for good filmic drama.

And don’t forget, only a few more weeks ’til the Oscars – time to get cooking!

7 responses to “Filmic Friday: The AR Edition

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 4, 2011 at 8:18 am

    try as you might, i’m still terrified!

  2. Mallory February 4, 2011 at 8:51 am

    It looks like a lot of fun but really intimidating!

  3. Johann February 4, 2011 at 10:34 am

    I think I will be a good target for you to get into the adventure racing scene. I’m a sucker for things like that. Happy Birthday to your sister for yesterday! Have a great weekend!

    • Abby February 4, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Johann, there used to be a race called The Bull of Africa around South Africa. It hasn’t run in a few years, but I’ve heard it was incredible! I’ll bet there’s a big AR community there 🙂

  4. Laurie February 5, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Geeze, Abby, I am scared of adventure racing thanks to this video! Class V rapids, people getting serious booboos, that one dude getting airlifted out by his PFD straps looks dead … it is back to 5ks exclusively for me 🙂
    Kari and Mallory, it really isn’t scary! The EcoChallenge is, but AR in general is totally do-able. There are races of all different lengths with varying degrees of difficulty. In fact, to me, a 24-hour adventure race isn’t as painful as a marathon (but talk to me at hour 20 of the next 24-hour race I do and I might have a different answer).

    • Abby February 5, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      I know, I know… I realized afterward that it may not have been the best way to woo people. I’ll remedy it with your AR musings this week 🙂

  5. Pingback: Guest Post: Why AR?, by Bill « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

