Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

So You Wanna Try An Adventure Race? (Giveaway!!)

If the thought of running around in the woods with your friends makes you giddy…

If you squeal with delight at the prospect of fueling on peanut m&m’s and poptarts…

If you’re ready to expand your horizons and tackle new challenges…

This giveaway is for you!!

GOALS ARA – the premiere adventure racing organization in the Philadelphia area – is offering a free team entry to one of their 2011 sprint adventure races.

GOALS races are designed for seasoned racers and beginners alike, and offer the ideal introduction to the sport.

As GOALS Founder Bill Gibbons (he put the G in GOALS) says, “Once you experience the thrill that comes from adventure racing, you’ll be hooked. We guarantee it.”

The Details:

The winner of this giveaway will receive free entry for a coed or single-gender team of two or three to either The Savage Adventure Race on April 16, 2011, or The Edge Adventure Race, tentatively scheduled for October 16, 2011.  Both races will take place in state parks in the Philadelphia region.

Individual race entry ordinarily costs $75 per person – this is up to a $225 value!

Each race will be made up of running, biking, canoeing, and map-and-compass navigation.  And, as is GOALS’ trademark, there will also be special team challenges.

The distance generally breaks down to roughly (emphasis on ‘roughly’) 5 miles on foot, 5 miles on the water, and 10 miles on bike.  Mountain bikes are recommended, but hybrids and cyclocross bikes will suffice.

Teams will have up to six hours to complete as much of the course as they can.

Are you excited yet???

Prizes are awarded to the top three teams in single-gender and coed 2- and 3-person categories.  All racers receive technical t-shirts and post-race refreshments.

Over the next several weeks, keep an eye out here for training tips from some of the best racers around, as well as guest posts from novices and pros alike, waxing poetic about the wonders of adventure racing.

As someone who once said she could never do anything like this and this past summer completed her first multi-day race, trust me when I tell you that anyone can complete an adventure race.

So what are you waiting for?

Get ready to make your way to Philadelphia and take to the trails!!

To Enter:

(1) Leave a comment below with your proposed team name (seriously, these things are important).

(2) For a second entry, spread the word about the giveaway on facebook, twitter, or on your own blog.  Link back or let me know in a separate comment.

(3) For a third entry, like G.O.A.L.S. Adventure Racing Association on facebook.

(4) To maximize your chances, get your prospective teammates to enter as well.

Entries will be accepted until March 15, at 11:59 PM.  The winner will be announced the following morning.

This giveaway is only open to people who have never competed in a GOALS race before.


21 responses to “So You Wanna Try An Adventure Race? (Giveaway!!)

  1. Julie (A Case of the Runs) February 2, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    I would TOTALLY bite if I lived over there. It’s a little too early for me to know whether I would be able to travel there, either. Bummer.

    But just for fun, my boyfriend and I have done half-marathon relays before using the team name “Sugar Bombs.” (we both have a little dessert/candy problem…)

    And I agree… those things ARE important.

  2. Mallory February 3, 2011 at 8:27 am

    That looks so cool!!! Some day I will do one. Some day.

  3. janae@hungryrunnergirl.com February 3, 2011 at 10:50 am

    SO SO COOL!!! I am loving it!! I would have to name my team hungry runner girls of course ha:) I liked them on facebook!!

  4. denise February 3, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    what an opportunity! i’m bummed i have to pass up entering the giveaway. my race schedule is already set and i’m not sure i want to add anything else on top of 10 races already. i know someone who might be interested…going to pass this link along.

  5. RunningLaur February 4, 2011 at 12:38 am

    How cool!!
    I’d love love love to try out an adventure race, unfortunately I don’t think either of these would fit in my schedule (yes, I do know my October/November schedule tentatively already….) I hope someone can really enjoy them!

    And, I just finally came across an email from you from, like, early December asking about a fall 50 mile. I’ve limited my looking for ultras, because I know I’d want to run them ALL and just can’t. I’m sure you’ve heard of the Tussey Mountainback in State College – I haven’t done it myself, but have heard only great things. It’d be a short trip for you to make, and while it’s a relay, they have a solo 50 mile option. I haven’t ruled this out in my fall plans yet either… 🙂
    The best resource I’ve found, listing every ultra in the country I believe: http://www.run100s.com/races.htm it’s addicting to look at.

  6. Pingback: Filmic Friday: The AR Edition « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  7. Lucy February 4, 2011 at 9:40 am

    This sounds amazing! In honor of my previous relay race team, I would have to continue on with the name Frisky Critters.

  8. Pingback: Guest Post: Why AR?, by Bill « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  9. G. Anthony February 7, 2011 at 1:57 am

    dang, if i wasnt planning on being on the opposite end of the country by then, id be all over that!!
    good lookin race guys!

  10. healthy ashley February 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    What an awesome race! Hmmmm, I’d have to give the team-naming duties to another member!

  11. Pingback: Guest Post: Why AR? by Laurie « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  12. Larry February 10, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    After peer pressure from Laurie and Bill, I’d like to enter the contest with my proposed team name: Aggressive Crotch Display. I’ve never done an adventure race before but we’ve volunteered for a GOALS race before, and it looks like a lot of fun.

  13. Pingback: The Evolution of an Adventure Racer « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  14. Erin Fox February 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    I don’t have a team yet, but some friends are I are talking about trying out adventure racing this year…our TM name was Mud Sweat and Beers, so I’ll go with that for our name!

  15. Pingback: Filmic Friday: Filmic Favorites « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  16. Tim February 18, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Two Person Team Name – “Lost & Found”, I would Lost
    Three Person Team Name – “Three Blind Mice”
    The point I am trying to make is unless my teammate can navigate, I am pretty sure I’m not finishing.

  17. Pingback: Nerd Nite « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  18. Pingback: Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  19. Pingback: Send in the Clowns « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

