Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Overheard in the Kitchen

When people meet Brent for the first time, they often think he’s on the quiet side.  But spend enough time with him and you’ll realize that he’s a pretty funny guy.  Me? I think he’s hilarious (though I suppose I’m a little bit partial).

Case in point:

Last night, I was getting ready for Kari’s Bake Sale when Brent came downstairs and declared that it was a good night for Breakfast for Dinner.

It’s a rare day that we eat dinner together, let alone cook dinner together, so it didn’t take much to convince me.

We brainstormed for a few minutes and ultimately landed on chocolate chip pancakes from a whole wheat Polly’s Pancake Mix that Brent’s folks had given us for Christmas.

Brent pulled out a few strips of bacon from the freezer to round out his meal, and the following conversation ensued…

Me: Just make sure you don’t get any bacon juice in the pancakes.

Brent: You know, sometimes animal fat is good for you.  That’s why you’re so small – you don’t get enough animal fat.

Me: Oh yeah?  And what makes you so small?

A beat.

Brent: Must have been that month that I was a vegetarian.

In other news, yesterday I spent an hour on the treadmill at the gym and three hours on our upstairs bike.  Conclusions?  I’m ready for spring…

9 responses to “Overheard in the Kitchen

  1. Kim (Book Worm Runs) February 2, 2011 at 7:02 am

    LOL! Too funny 🙂 I am soooo ready for spring, too. Blah!

  2. denise February 2, 2011 at 7:32 am

    that’s cute!!

    i think that silly groundhog just decided we’ll have an early spring, but i don’t believe it. and why do we pay attention to this thing, anyway? 40,000 people were there for it. really?

  3. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction February 2, 2011 at 8:11 am

    hahaah, I like it! I’ve pretty much converted Mike over to being a vegetarian because he doesn’t like to cook for himself.

  4. Mallory February 2, 2011 at 8:45 am

    Haha that’s funny! Ugh I am so ready for spring too. This weather is such a bummer!

  5. Mallory February 2, 2011 at 8:46 am

    I’m so glad he came home with “just because” flowers! Every girl deserves that!!!!

  6. Julie (A Case of the Runs) February 2, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Ha ha… just saw a Man vs. Food episode where there was bacon IN the pancakes. I am not a big fan of bacon. The first time I had it (in college a couple of years before I went veg), I was like, “THIS is what everyone raves about?!” I still find the taste a little appalling when its juices unintentionally make their way into my food.

  7. RunToTheFinish February 2, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    done, i will go vegetarian for a month then 🙂

  8. Julie February 2, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Got to love a funny guy 🙂
    Mmmm…bacon.

  9. the dawn February 5, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    love it! animal fat…hmmm…i have always been vegetarian…never eat animal fat…yet, i’m pretty sure no one would ever mistake me for being “so small.” hilarious!

Leave a Reply

