Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Psychotherapy 101

I walked in from a run this morning just as Brent was sitting down to breakfast.  I made a mug of hot chocolate, and joined him at the table.

Me: So, I had the weirdest dream this morning.  It’s the second or third time I’ve had it in the past few months.  It’s the morning of the Savage [our spring sprint adventure race], and none of my gear is ready.  We’re already at the park, setting up the transition, and I can’t find anything.  My pack, my shoes, my helmet – nothing.  I actually remembering thinking in my dream, “Man, this is just like that dream I had…”  And then, you turn to me, hand me an old bag, and say, “Why don’t you use this pack?  At least if something happens to it, it’s insured.”  And that was it.  What do you think it means?

Brent (smiling): I think it means you still feel guilty about losing your engagement ring.

Me: But what about the race stuff?

Brent: Oh that?  That’s just a random metaphor.

7 responses to “Psychotherapy 101

  1. Anne January 29, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    🙂 …actually, that’s not a bad interpretation of the dream 🙂

  2. denise January 29, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    you know, it sounds about right!!! hope you’re having a great wknd!!

  3. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 29, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    hahahaha. you should look it up in a dream dictionary. I always do that with my weird dreams. I don’t necessarily buy into it, but it’s always neat to see what they have to say!

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) January 30, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Ha ha… glad I’m not the only one who has pre-race dreams. I always dream that I’m late to the start. Definitely says something about me…

    I have no psychoanalysis credentials, so I would agree with Brett!

  5. Elise January 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    hahah. i love it. and believe brett is probably right 🙂

    love the blog, btw! so happy you wandered my way via kari! and glad to see the life post-phd is totally worth it — sounds like quite the blast 😉

  6. Kim (Book Worm Runs) January 30, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    LOL!! My hubby and I try and interpret each others dreams all the time…it is fun to see what we come up with 🙂 Brett had a pretty good interpretation! 🙂

  7. Mallory January 31, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Hahaha he sounds like a funny guy!! What a great response!!!

Leave a Reply

