Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Aloha?

2011 is a big year for my family.

In the next 12 (or 11, at this point) months, my sister will turn 25, Brent and I will both turn 30, my dad will turn 60, and my parents will celebrate their 35th wedding anniversary.

My parents decided a few months ago that we should all go on a trip this summer to celebrate the milestones.  We’ve talked about everything from renting a house in Vermont or Sodona, to hanging out at an eco-lodge in Costa Rica, to exploring the Alaskan fjords by boat.

And then this morning, my mom sent out an email to the whole group.

In it were the following words:

Vacation rental…

Mango trees…

Kahaluu Beach…

Kona!

I can’t tell if we’re actually going to Hawaii, or if my mom is just daydreaming of warmer days after waking up to more of this:

A walk in the woods, a few blocks from our house

Here’s hoping!

12 responses to “Aloha?

  1. Mallory January 26, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    That is one place that I’ve always dreamed of going. It just looks so beautiful. I hope you get to go there so I can live vicariously through you!! 🙂

  2. the dawn January 26, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    so fun! the last time i was in hawaii i was under the age of 8. i still remember the sunburn 🙂 guess i’m more of a cold weather girl, cause i’d be more excited going anywhere in alaska 🙂

    what a fun idea to combine all the milestones into one big celebration! super fun!

  3. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    That’s awesome!!! The entire maternal side of my family is taking a vacation to North Carolina this year and I can’t wait! But Hawaii is even more exciting!!

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) January 26, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    That would be so awesome if it is! Great milestones! I hope this year is a big one for me, too!

  5. Jill January 26, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Oh man….that sounds awesome right now! Fingers crossed it works out!!! 🙂

  6. Stephanie January 26, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it’s Hawaii. I LOVE Hawaii and I’ll be totally jealous of you! 🙂 Congrats on all of the fun family stuff this year!

  7. Amanda January 27, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Hawaii sounds fantastic right now. It sounds like y’all have quite a year coming up!!

  8. Danita January 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Bookmarked, I enjoy your blog! 🙂

  9. Johann January 28, 2011 at 6:19 am

    Here’s hoping for sure! I can dream about Hawaii but that snow picture is just as beautiful and dream-able for me. Never have I been in snow like that.

  10. tosha25italia January 28, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    that would be awesome! 30! I feel like you are still 27 in my mind..but I’m also not 30 yet in my mind.

  11. Pingback: London or Bust « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

