Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Tender Loving Care

Amazing what a little TLC can do…

When I came home from the chiropractor on Wednesday, I was hurting more than when I went in.  I knew that the adjustment would ultimately be for the better, but man, that ‘ultimately’ had definitely not arrived yet.

That afternoon, I heated and advil-ed like it was my job, and within a few hours, I was slowly starting to feel better.

I went for a short walk with a friend on Thursday morning, but otherwise I spent most of the next couple days laying low and heating up.  And sure enough, I began to see progress.

By Friday morning the sharp pains had given way to a dull ache.  By Friday night it was down to mere tightness.

When I woke up this morning, for the first time in more than week, I didn’t wince as I got out of bed.  Sure, I was still stiff, but I was so excited to feel nearly normal that I almost stood up and did a little jig (I’m not sure my soundly sleeping husband would have been all that thrilled with that one).

This afternoon I ended up linking up with a friend for an hour of snowshoeing with the dogs.  Nothing strenuous, but it was great to be outside and active, and especially nice not to worry about tweaking something with each step.

I’m still following doctor’s orders and holding off on the running and biking until Wednesday.  And like a good patient, I’m currently lying around with heat on my lower back, organizing my class rosters and watching reruns of (the original) Beverly Hills 90210 (did I really just admit that?).

But I’m feeling near 100%, and can’t wait to ramp up again later this week.

Maybe I should take this as a lesson about the wonders of legitimate rest and rehab, for the next time I find myself with an acute injury… Maybe 🙂

10 responses to “Tender Loving Care

  1. Mallory January 22, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    I miss 90210! The original, obviously!!! Glad that you are feeling a bit better. Sounds like the little layoff has helped you a lot!!

    My mom, aunt, sister and I all have a tattoo in tribute to my Grandpa. Grandpa is still alive but he has always called all of us “Sissy” so it’s been a joke that my mom is Sissy 1, aunt is Sissy 2, I’m Sissy 3 and my sister is Sissy 4 (in order of ages) so we all have tattoos (don’t worry, it doesn’t say SISSY lol) that say SI, SII, SIII and SIV respectively. We all have it done a little differently but that’s what it stands for. The four of us are really close and are actually having our first “adult” girls weekend in February in DC (where my sis goes to school) because she’s finally 21! It’ll be great. And I grew up in Springfield, IL so we went on field trips around town for Lincoln stuff and then Chicago for culture lol

  2. Anne January 22, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    So glad you’re feeling better and able to enjoy getting out there again. Keep taking good care of yourself!

  3. the dawn January 22, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    yeah, why did they mess with the original and try to recreate it?

    glad that things are finally on the way to feeling back to normal! it is so hard to restrict activity while recovering from any kind of set back. you are doing the right thing and will soon be back to all the adventures that you are used to 🙂

  4. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 22, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    glad you’re feeling better! it’s the “maybe” that always kills me because it always turns into a “probably not”

  5. Brie January 23, 2011 at 3:48 am

    So glad you are feeling a bit better! Thats good that you are resting and getting it stonger again. Favorite TV shows always make me feel revived too!

  6. tosha25italia January 23, 2011 at 4:47 am

    glad you are seeing improvememt!

  7. Abby January 23, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Glad you are feeling better! Snowshoeing sound like so much fun!!

  8. Kelsey January 23, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    90210, huh? That was my poison for about 4 years. I think I’ve seen the whole series about 3 times. Love it!

    Back pain can be a bugger…take it easy, lady! I’m sure it’s tough-I know I get pretty stir crazy when I’m cooped up, but one lesson I’ve learned is that it’s better to get healed up the first time…glad you’re feeling better though!!! Oh snowshoeing!!! I was a big cross-country skier back in my days up North-boy do it miss it! Now I satisfy my CCS needs by running through the snowy park, but I miss the peacefullness of CCS-I think snowshoeing is the same!! Sounds like you had a nice restful day!

  9. Julie (A Case of the Runs) January 23, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    So glad it’s feeling better. I guess rest and attention really DO help. I hope 100% is truly that and not 95% with 5% propensity to hurt again, but I’m sure by now you know the difference! Happy un-resting!

  10. catskill ice climbing January 24, 2011 at 12:38 am

    Glad you are feeling better! Snowshoeing sound like so much fun!!

Leave a Reply

