Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Filmic Friday: The Countdown Begins!

Last Sunday night, when Joseph Gordon Levitt took the stage at the Golden Globes, my heart fluttered.  When Robert Downey, Jr. locked eyes with Julianne Moore, my spirits lifted.  When Natalie Portman mentioned how much her fiance wants to sleep with her and then giggled awkwardly for a few seconds too long, I could barely contain my excitement.

Love...

What’s the cause for such celebration, you ask?

Why, the countdown to the Academy Awards, of course!

Every year since my sophomore year of college, I’ve played host to an annual Oscars party.  My co-hosts have changed in the ten years (ten years!) that the festivities have been held, but regardless of the circumstances, one thing has remained constant – a healthy dose of competition.

There’s movie trivia to be played, Oscars ballots to be filled out.  One year there was even a prize for the person who had the fewest correct guesses – a subscription to Entertainment Weekly, so that she could be better prepared for the following year.

Last year, we added something new to the mix, with an edible extravaganza.

Each guest brought a food or drink made in the spirit of a nominated film, actor, or category, with the prize going to the most creative dish.

If memory serves, the prize went to the Up-cakes (I didn’t enter the contest, but I have to say, I was pretty proud of my own creation: Nazi Scalps, a la Inglorious Basterds – AKA chocolate dipped strawberries).

With the nominations set to be released in just four days (stay tuned next Tuesday at 8:30 AM EST!), our friends here in Philly are taking to their kitchens and planning this year’s crazy concoctions.

And, in honor of these Filmic Fridays, I decided that it might be fun to open up the contest to you all as well!

So, here it is – the first ever Virtual Oscars Extravaganza Cook-Off!!

It doesn’t matter where you are or what you’re doing the night of February 27, when the awards air.  But over the next five weeks, I’m calling on you to take to your kitchen and create a movie-themed dish of your very own.

To enter, leave a comment letting me know that you’ll be participating.  Then, next Tuesday, check out the nominations (I’ll post them here on Friday, too).  And start planning!

Entries (with posted photos and description) should be completed no later than Friday, February 25.  I’ll post all of the links here, and you’ll all have a week to cast your vote!.  The winner will be announced on Friday, March 5, and a movie-themed prize will go to the top vote-getter.

So what are you waiting for?  Get cooking! And spread the word!!

15 responses to “Filmic Friday: The Countdown Begins!

  1. tosha25italia January 21, 2011 at 7:10 am

    sounds super fun! I won’t participate but look forward to reading about it!

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 21, 2011 at 7:37 am

    oooh I can’t wait to see what people make…maybe I’ll get creative in the kitchen.

  3. Emily January 21, 2011 at 10:02 am

    My group of friends back in Vermont does a weekly themed family dinner, and obviously this always becomes oscar-themed the week of the acadamy awards. I’ll try and find our list from last year to share with you!

  4. the dawn January 21, 2011 at 11:04 am

    that is so fun! i’m not good at the cooking/baking realm…but count me in 🙂

  5. denise January 21, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    1) if i watched any good movie i’d be in. 2) if i could cook something creative i’d be in. 3) since i don’t do either, i’ll just watch!

  6. Mallory January 21, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    I had SUCH a crush on him way back in the day!!!

  7. Pingback: Who’s The Moosiest Moose We Know? | Heather Eats Almond Butter

  8. Pingback: True Love Grits | Heather Eats Almond Butter

  9. Healthy Coconut January 31, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    This is such a fun and creative way to get cookin in the kitchen. I want to play, I’m in 🙂

  10. Pingback: Filmic Friday: The AR Edition « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  11. Pingback: Filmic Friday: The Cook-Off Kicks Off « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  12. Pingback: Filmic Friday: Filmic Favorites « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  13. Pingback: Filmic Friday: Filmic Failure « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

