Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Happy Accidents

Because of my long commute up the NJ turnpike – between 1.5 and 2 hours each way, depending on the time of day – I’ve often found myself spending one night a week at a cheap motel in North Jersey.  I was initially reluctant to get into the habit, but with teaching one evening a week and again the following morning, it didn’t seem to make sense to drive back home for just a handful of hours rest.  With some creative internet searches and random coupons, usually the cost isn’t much more than the combined gas and tolls I’d be spending on the drive.

Though I didn’t teach today, when I learned of the potential for messy weather tomorrow morning, I opted for the same game plan this evening.  I found an awesome rate (gotta love priceline’s name-your-own price) on what turned out to be a pretty swanky boutique hotel (think faux-hardwood floors instead of carpet), and drove up to a town about twenty minutes from school.

When I checked in and came up to my room, I discovered that the wifi wasn’t compatible with my mac.  I called the front desk and the guy suggested that I bring my laptop downstairs for him to take a look at it.

I was on the third floor of more than twenty, and, always one to choose the stairs over the elevator, I walked to the end of the hallway toward the stairwell.  There was a sign on the door that said, “exit only – no reentry,” but I reasoned that there must be a way into the lobby.

I ran down to the first floor, computer in hand, and came face-to-face with an alarmed door to the street.  Oops.  I ran back up to my floor and tried to get back in.  No dice.  I  ran all the way up, checking each door as I went.  Nothing.  I ran all the way back down, hoping to spot someone filling an ice bucket or grabbing a soda.

Up and down I went – two times, three times, four – until finally I spotted an older gentleman stooped over the ice machine.  I banged on the window, smiling my most friendly smile and waving enthusiastically.

After a skeptical glance, he finally walked over and pushed open the door.

“Somebody forgot their key,” he said in a sing-song voice.

“I swear, I didn’t!” I told him, and recounted the activities of the past twenty minutes.

I headed for the elevators, dropped down to the lobby, and two minutes later was back in my room, safe and sound.

So, a swanky hotel, an unexpected stair workout, and functioning wifi?

Not too bad for a night in North Jersey…

8 responses to “Happy Accidents

  1. Anne January 18, 2011 at 7:54 am

    Yikes! I think that would have freaked me out a little…glad it all worked out 🙂

  2. Mallory January 18, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I think I would have started to panic being in a stairwell for that long!!

  3. denise January 18, 2011 at 10:44 am

    that would have had me all panicked! glad you made it out ok! 🙂

  4. Julie (A Case of the Runs) January 18, 2011 at 10:47 am

    I hate getting trapped at hotels! What a long commute you have. I used to do 1-1.5 hours, which led me to quit!

  5. Julie January 18, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Oh man! That is totally something I would do. But more likely in the middle of the night when I would have no chance of receiving assistance. I’m a sleep walker so I’ve actually been locked out on balconies in the middle of the night before. Scary. It’s the ONLY reason I wear jammies to bed 😉
    ok…maybe that was TMI. Sorry 🙂

  6. kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    hahaha, definitely an eventful night. that’s odd about the stairway, though, it doesn’t really give patrons the option of using the stairs

  7. Pingback: The Hip Bone’s Connected to the… « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  8. the dawn January 19, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    and a stair workout to seal the deal!

Leave a Reply

