Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Supermom Strikes Again

My mom loved that so many people appreciated her thoughts on marriage, so I thought I’d write one more post about why my mom is good to keep around.

Tonight, after a surprisingly productive day of writing and a tough hill ride on our stationary bike while watching Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune (the glories of network television), I decided I wanted to bake.  We have a family friend in the neighborhood whose partner is struggling with illness, and I volunteered to go over there and help shovel them out tomorrow morning.  I thought they might appreciate a loaf of my mom’s famous cranberry chocolate chip bread as well, and I’ve had a hankering for the bread recently myself, so I decided to make a couple batches.

So, what do you need for my mom’s cranberry bread?

Flour?  Check.

Sugar?  Check.

Baking soda, eggs, orange juice, yogurt?  Check check check check.

Cranberries?  Problem…

So I picked up the phone and called my parents, who conveniently live around the corner from us and ALWAYS have frozen cranberries and bananas in the freezer for just this sort of occasion.

In the time it took me to walk through our back alley and across my good friend’s lawn to my parents’ front door, I realized I was lacking a few other necessities.

I walked inside, said hello, and looked at my mom sheepishly.

“Um, could I borrow a couple loaf pans?”

My mom laughed.

“And maybe the recipe, too?”

“Do you have orange juice concentrate?” she asked.

“Um…”

As we walked down to the basement to get the cranberries and OJ out of the freezer, my mom said, “This is nothing.  Your sister came over yesterday and took all of our flour and half the bananas.”

I thanked her for the supplies, promised to restock the freezer after the snowstorm (my mom, who can’t eat any gluten, said she’d trade me the cranberries for a loaf of bread for my dad), and came home to put four cranberry-packed loaves in the oven, eagerly anticipating a snow-filled morning of warm bread, hot chocolate, and running around in the woods.

The moral of this story?

If you want to bake and don’t keep your kitchen well-stocked with the requisite ingredients, it pays to keep your mom close by.

My mom, me, and my sister in Vegas to celebrate my sister’s nursing school graduation.  That would be water, wine, and an amaretto sour. Yeah, we party hard.

7 responses to “Supermom Strikes Again

  1. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 12, 2011 at 6:22 am

    Wow, I thought my parents were close and they live four miles away! You’re lucky you can walk to yours!!

  2. Heather January 12, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Aren’t mom’s the BEST? Though, mine now lives about 25 miles away….. 😦

  3. denise January 12, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    aw, i liked that post!! i love being back in PA and having my mom only 10 minutes away. i’m not sure i could handle her in my back yard, though. 😉

  4. Natalie January 12, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    You really resemble your mom too! And your sister and you have similar features also. you are going to LOVE having your mom so close by even more when/if you have kids! 🙂 That’s so nice.

  5. Nellie (The Midlife Cruiser) January 12, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I never really got to know my mom as an adult. She passed away when I was 20. Now I’m 36, and know that if she was around today, we’d have been the best of friends. I envy people who are close to their moms, and on the other hand, I’m also happy for them. You are a lucky girl!!

  6. Mallory January 13, 2011 at 9:00 am

    What a cute story!! Sounds like your mom is pretty awesome!!

  7. Pingback: A Generations-Old Battle… « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

