Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

2011 – The Year of the Extreme

Brent and I got home yesterday afternoon from New England and got down to business.  It’s funny how disorienting two weeks out of town can be in the middle of the school year.  There was laundry to do, groceries to buy, schedules to coordinate, and papers to gather.

Brent started back at school this morning, and though my semester doesn’t actually start until after MLK Day, my next couple weeks will be filled with revising syllabi, prepping classes, attending conferences (back north to Boston later this week!), writing proposals, and putting the final touches on a big project.

And training!

For the first time, this year I’ll be focusing exclusively on adventure racing (with some trail races thrown in), rather than trying to balance AR with marathoning (or triathloning).  And I spent yesterday afternoon figuring out what that will look like.

Brent decided that he wants to follow a rough training schedule for the first time, and we all know how much I love plans and lists, so we put our heads together and came up with a general guide for targeted workouts each month.

We’ve got:

-Long rides (40+ miles or 3+ hours) every other week.

-Climbing (2 hours) three times a month.

-Paddling (3+ hours) twice monthly.

-Technical mountain biking (1-2 hours on trails) once a week.

-Core/strength work three times a week.

-Three runs each week.

-Long hikes twice a month.

-Bushwhacking twice a month.

-Night training twice a month.

So, this is the planned minimum for each month, from now through the end of AR season (roughly October).  Some of this will evolve as the season progresses (for instance, paddling probably won’t enter the equation until spring, but swimming might, and the long rides will get longer as we get into late spring and summer), and some of it will be personally tailored to individual goals (I’ll certainly be running more than three days a week, as I have my sights set on a return to the Bel Monte Endurance Challenge at the end of March), but I like that I have a rough training plan for AR (and that Brent’s into it, too!  He’s never been one for schedules like this, but he’s embracing it this season – he even printed out a calendar for the fridge).

We won’t be doing all this training together, but having this baseline program will allow us to hold ourselves accountable, both personally and to our teammates.

Why the extra oomph this year?

We’ve got big plans in the works!

In addition to the usual regional 12- and 24-hour races (which this year are joining together in an East Coast Adventure Racing Series – should make for some fun competition!), Brent and I are hoping to field a team for the 2011 Raid the North Extreme, near British Columbia, Canada.

This would be the biggest event to date for either of us (though more of a stretch for me than for him) – 6 days and 500+ kilometers of nonstop racing.  Honestly, I still haven’t totally wrapped my head around it.

We’ve still got some details and logistics to figure out, but we’re hoping to have everything squared away in the next few weeks.

And then, it’s off to the races!

13 responses to “2011 – The Year of the Extreme

  1. Mallory January 3, 2011 at 10:36 am

    OMG Abby that’s awesome!! So glad he is embracing the training plan. It sounds like you two have a great plan! I love all that stuff – paddling, swimming, biking… I just don’t make time to do it and I really should!!

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 3, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    You guys are extreme! How did you get into adventure racing??

    Also, I see a major difference when using the pizza stone, it makes a billion times better crust!

    • Abby January 3, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      It’s a little bit of a long story – I’ll write a post on it soon 🙂

      And I’ll definitely have to get my hands on a pizza stone!

  3. Nellie (The Midlife Cruiser) January 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Do you happen to wear a Wonder Woman costume under your regular clothes? You are POWERFUL!! That is quite a training schedule! I think it’s awesome you and your guy train together. Very lucky!!

    Nellie
    http://midlifecruiser.blogspot.com

    P.S. Is there any way I can become a “follower” on your blog like there is on mine?? I would love to be able to pull up your blog every morning when I read my favorites!

  4. Angela Kidd January 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Awesome! And I think it’s hysterical that you’ve got bushwhacking on your monthly schedule – mostly because I find the word funny since I don’t really know what bushwhacking is.

  5. Laurie January 3, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Go bushwacking with Bill. His legs are 88 times longer than mine — trying to keep up, even remotely, with him, is good practice!
    I have no idea what I am doing this year. Think we are doing the Pretzel City race in two weeks, that AR in April, maybe NY again (I am not in the mood for a marathon right now but it was a great experience so hopefully the mood wiill switch by November), a few halfs and duathlons — but so far no actual schedule and I am registered for nothing. Let me know when/if you want to run/bike/climb and I might invite myself along for some night training. Thnking about an overnight ride and hike out to Green Lane at some point before the AR in April.
    This is a long comment.

  6. Runtothefinish January 5, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    getting caught up on all of your posts and once again it gets me excited to try crazy things 🙂 So I have been meaning to email you and Denise about maybe finding a race somewhere this spring to meet up and do? Or next fall whatever, I just think it would be a blast to basically have a girls weekend…uh with a race thrown in 🙂

    Love the review on microspikes, I have yaktrax but haven’t had to use them a whole lot. i got you linked up too 😉

  7. Pingback: Of Racing and Relationships, Part I « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  8. Pingback: An Epic Weekend « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  9. Pingback: London or Bust « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

  10. Pingback: 2012: The Year of… « Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Leave a Reply

