Have Dental Floss, Will Travel

Mapping the world, one waxy strand at a time…

Filmic Friday – 2010 At the Movies

Traveling for the past two weeks with little access to news and internet has left me a bit disoriented when it comes to what day it is.

Just this afternoon, I realized that not only is it New Years Eve, but it’s also Filmic Friday.  I almost missed it!

Critics and film geeks alike have painted 2010 as a lackluster year at the movies.  A friend of mine who works in “the business” tells me that the relative absence of quality films is due both to the writers’ strike of 2008 and the simultaneous economic downturn.

At times, I’ve tried to argue with this general sentiment, but after looking through a list of the 651 films released in theaters this past year (of which I saw 51), I have to admit that it was a pretty forgettable bunch.  You know that something’s missing when you have a hard time remembering whether or not you’ve seen a particular title.

Still, there were some quality movies to come out in 2010, ones that would have stood out even in a banner year.

With award season just around the corner, I won’t go into my top picks just yet.  So instead, a brief list of some memorable filmic moments of the past year…

The movie that I most wanted to love but didn’t: The Kids Are All Right. Julianne Moore was brilliant, and I’ll always have a soft spot for Mark Ruffalo, but I thought that this film was trying to tell too many stories at once, and it ended up feeling a bit scattered. A few friends have told me I’m wrong about this one, and I’m looking forward to giving it a second chance on DVD.

My favorite new face in Hollywood: Andrew Garfield. He’s been around for a little while but this was the first year that I took notice of this rising star.  He played supporting roles in The Social Network and Never Let Me Go, and though so far he’s been cast as the slightly nerdy awkward sidekick, I have to say, I see heartthrob potential.

Best Film Critic: David Edelstein. One of my favorite things about Friday afternoons is listening to Edelstein’s 10-minute movie reviews at the end of NPR’s Fresh Air.  He’s convinced me to see at least a dozen movies that I would have otherwise ignored, and his delivery is downright lyrical.  (Seriously, check out his review of 2009’s Public Enemies – it’s better heard than read.)

And finally…

Because no matter how many independent, serious, artsy movies I see, I’m still a total sucker for cheesy romantic comedies – the most cheesy of 2010’s cheesy rom-coms: Letters to Juliet.  Seriously, the tagline for the film is “The greatest love story ever told… is your own.”  Enough said…

6 responses to “Filmic Friday – 2010 At the Movies

  1. Laurie December 31, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    The tagline for Letters to Juliet just made me throw up in my mouth. Thanks.

  2. Kari w/ Jogging with Fiction January 1, 2011 at 8:27 am

    hahaha, i actually kind of enjoyed letters to juliet until the very last scene, which ruined the entire movie. It wasn’t anything great, but it was mind candy.

  3. Nellie (The Midlife Cruiser) January 2, 2011 at 12:28 am

    I must admit, I’m very impressed you make it through a movie to the end 🙂 I always find myself drifting off until Bosco uses me for his bridge with his sharp little toes to make his way off the couch. Stupid hairball. Doesn’t he know I catch my best ZZZs during the movies?!?!

    Nellie

    • Abby January 2, 2011 at 8:46 am

      It’s funny, I can sit through three movies in a row in the theater, but plop me down on the couch with a DVD, and I’m asleep within half an hour of the opening credits!

  4. Mallory January 3, 2011 at 8:45 am

    I totally agree about The Kids Are All Right. I so wanted to love it but it was marginal. They actors in the film were great but the story was scattered and not the “breakthrough” for same-sex parents I had been hoping for.

Leave a Reply

